Matches 201 to 300 of 1,204

      «Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13» Next»

 #   Notes   Linked to 
201 (Research):There was no Forrester's insurance application for Thomas at TIARA. FORD, Thomas B. (I2174)
202 (Research):Thomas O'Shea
Certificate No 66-184  USDC Boston, Mass.
Born in Ireland obn March 27 1848
Naturalized on October 30, 1872 
O'SHEA, Thomas (I824)
203 (U.S. Consulate) Buenos Aires, Argentina BENDERSKY, Raquel (I300)
204 1201 Balcom Avenue, Bronx, NY 10465 Source (S220)
205 137 Cross Street CASHMAN, John (I180)
206 24 Washington Street CASHMAN, Anna Beatrice (I671)
207 286 Moose Hill Road VERROCHI, Rose (I1056)
208 35 Codman Park WHITNEY, Gorham Horatio (I1349)
209 360 pages Source (S10)
210 54 Common Street REARDON, Bartholomew William (I111)
211 950 East 149th Street MCKENNA, Francis Felix (I597)
212 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Living (I1103)

James Eugene Cashman was born in Quincy on May 22, 1876 and spent his first 31 years in his native city learning the contracting business from his father, John Cashman. When John won a contract to repair the Burlington breakwater in 1903, his son James, went to Vermont to oversee the job. By 1905, James was winning contracts under his own name. James settled in Burlington with his wife Ada James and their five children and set about the work of constructing many of Burlington's principal buildings and bridges, including Burlington's City Hall, Memorial Auditorium and the Winooski Bridge. After his father died in 1913, James became general manager and treasurer of Bay State Dredging & Contracting, during which time he oversaw the construction of important projects such as the Bellevue Hill water tower in West Roxbury, the high-level sewers at Needham, the Metropolitan Park Boulevard in Quincy and dredging associated with the Boston Army Supply Base. James was New England director for the Associated General Contractors of America, an organization which instituted an annual award in his name. At the time of his death on February 24, 1931, he owned the largest contracting business in Vermont. 
CASHMAN, James Eugene Sr. (I452)

Alice Cashman DeRuisseau was born in Hyde Park and raised in East Milton. She was educated in the Milton school system and graduated from the Vesper George School of Art in Boston. She became fashion illustrator for Jay's, a specialty shop for women in Boston, an illustrator for several newspapers in Boston and for Cherry & Webb in Lowell and Lawrence. During the war years she did free-lance illustrating for several local stores. For many years prior to her retirement, Mrs. DeRuisseau was employed by the ANDOVER TOWNSMAN in the production department where she used her artistic skills in producing and designing advertisements. She was widely known in art circles for the intricate gold leaf tole designs which she created in her atelier, a talent which gave her much enjoyment. Mr. and Mrs. DeRuisseau, who have lived on Tower Hill for 47 years, recently celebrated their 48th wedding anniversary. She was a life member of the Lawrence General Hospital Aid Association and one of her great pleasures was family membership in the North Cove Yacht Club at Big Island Pond, where they all enjoyed sailing. 
CASHMAN, Alice Mary (I920)

Ann "Deeter" Leich Reardon of Hingham passed away on Wednesday, August 30, surrounded by her family and her pastor at St. Paul's Church, just as they finished singing the old Latin hymn "In paradisum…" "may the angels lead you into paradise." She would have celebrated her 93rd birthday on Sunday, September 3. A kind and generous and loving person, Ann was born in Evansville Indiana to Herbert and Marcella (Jacobi) Leich. She grew up in a family full of music, and German traditions, like Christmas cookie baking. For 37 years, she baked German Christmas cookies with three generations of cousins, most recently at a Bed and Breakfast in Vermont last December. Over the years she kept her earliest friendships, with friends, and with her fifteen first cousins, including Martha Leich Parkhurst of Baltimore, and John Foster Leich of Cornwall Connecticut. Her early schooling was unconventional, including an "open air" school, where the windows were kept open, and children wore Eskimo suits during their classes. She attended Wellesley College for a year, but transferred to the National College of Education in Chicago to finish her degree, due to the financial pressures on her family from the depression. There she worked as a elementary school teacher for families, including the Farm School. Her first grade class was responsible for tending six sheep, the second grade goats, and the third grade a pony. Classes reflected the farm interests. The first graders also sheared and carded wool. There she played the recorder in small ensembles with the Dushkin family. This included a concert for Igor Stravinsky. She met her late husband, Paul Cashman Reardon, an Associate Justice of the Massachusetts Supreme Court, through friends in Chicago on the day he finished his bar exam. They met in 1935, and were married in 1939. Meanwhile, she taught, and traveled. In 1937, she joined her brother, composer Roland Leich, on a 2000-mile bicycle trip to England and Germany during the Nazi period. He had won the Bearns Prize for composition, and had invited his sister to join him. Their trip included trips to music festivals, and a transfer of papers and ownership in a family business to German cousins, which was dangerous, since it went against Nazi instructions to those with property in foreign countries. Other trips included kayaking down the Thames in folding kayaks with her Hingham friend Helen Ingram, a 10,000-mile 6-week cross-country camping trip with her two families, including four adults and seven children, and several trips with her husband to Great Britain and Australia when he participated in the AngloAmerican Legal Exchanges. She was famous for her brownies, which she baked as gifts for family members and friends. Cardinal Cushing declared in a letter that these were "heavenly brownies". More recently she delivered a box of brownies to the Hingham Fire Department after they fixed her flat tire, and, later, after they picked her up after a fall, and taken her home. It was the Hingham Fire Department that took her to South Shore Hospital after she suffered a stroke last Friday. Her granddaughters Lottie and Polly have learned her recipe, and are continuing her traditions After her marriage, she and her husband moved to Quincy. They had five children, two of whom predeceased her. She lost her three-year old son, Bobby, in an automobile accident, and her daughter Jane Reardon Labys in the crash of TWA 800. She brought her kindergarten and first grade skills to her old neighborhood, and children loved painting on easels in the family backyard. Ann Reardon was also known for her photographs. Her interest started when she won the silver badge for photography from the St. Nicholas Magazine when she was 10. Over the years she chronicled her family, making scrapbooks and albums for more distant family members. In Quincy, she and her husband were active in the community. This included their involvement with the Community Chest and Red Feather, her Presidency of the Quincy League of Women Voters, her directorships at the Eventide Home, the Quincy Public Library, the South Shore YMCA (where she was honored with the Hodgkinson Award for her volunteer work, and her Presidency of the Quincy Homemakers, now part of Partners VNA. She was also a Cub Scout den mother for her sons, and their friends. She was a model for her sister-in-law, artist Mary Reardon, and she and her son Tom were the Madonna and Child for a holy card for the Carroll Center for the Blind in the 1940s. After she and her husband moved to Hingham in 1962, they became active in that community, including the Committee to Save Worlds End, and the Trustees of Reservations. She was a founding director of the South Shore Conservatory, some 36 years ago. She kept up her interests in the societies she was part of, including the Pilgrim Society, the Quincy Historical Society and the Hingham Historical Society. She was a member of the Union Club of Boston. Until the VNA Unique Boutique closed its doors this summer, she was an active volunteer there, as well as a Minister of Welcome at St. Paul's Church in Hingham. She also enjoyed her volunteer work with the Hingham Historical Society's Old Ordinary. She was a founding member of the Ann Harvard Society. She served Meals on Wheels into her 80s, driving lunches to senior citizens who were 10 years younger than she. She continued to play in recorder ensembles over the years, and was occasionally called upon to perform for occasions on the South Shore. One Christmas she and her quartet performed in the bay window of Talbot's in Hingham Square, and at the Forbes Museum in Milton. Ann Reardon was a Boston Symphony subscriber, and had enjoyed the bus trips from the South Shore to Boston. Last month she traveled to Tanglewood to hear her daughter Martha sing with the Tanglewood Festival Chorus in the Mozart Requiem. Her calendar was legendary, and her nieces, nephews and friends would hear from her at birthdays and holiday times. Her family enjoyed summers at Boot Pond in Plymouth, where the family still owns a cottage. She would have celebrated her 93rd birthday on Sunday, September 3, and the family is planning to celebrate her on that day. Over the years, her husband's law clerks and judicial and legal associates became her friends as well, and she would assist her husband in his law clerk reunions, or testing fish chowder recipes for his "Fish Chowder Case" opinion, or cleaning up after his encounters with beach-plum jelly making She loved Hummels, angels, Mozart, Christmas and chocolate, and classical music. She had recently enjoyed participating in a memoir class at the Hingham Senior Center, which gave her the opportunities to pull together her early memories. In recent months, she had become more frail, but loved to visit the village coffee shops and restaurants, and to see the children coming from classes at the Community Center. She was young at heart, and beloved by her extended family and friends. She leaves her daughter Martha Bewick of Hingham, son David C. Reardon of Haymarket Virginia, and Thomas P. Reardon of Newton and their spouses, five grandchildren and their spouses, three step-grandchildren and two great-grandchildren. She learned while in the hospital that her grandson and his wife were expecting a new child, which gave her joy. She leaves two first cousins, Martha Leich Parkhurst of Towson Maryland, and John Foster Leich of Cornwall Connecticut, and many young cousins, nieces and nephews and their children, and many many loving friends. Her granddaughter said "she always represented happiness to me."  [Source: Keohane Funeral Home web site]

Family lore says that when Ann's 3-yr old son, Robert, was killed by an automobile, Ann went over to comfort the hysterical driver of the car, who was a daughter of the founder of Grossman's. [Source: John Curran, conversation 26 Nov 2012]
I wouldn't say the neighbor was "hysterical", and wouldn't use that word. My mother went over to her home to comfort her, and tell her that there was nothing she could have done since Bobby had run out into the street. I don't know that she was related to the Grossmans. [Source: Martha Bewick, e-mail recieved 3 Oct 2016] 
LEICH, Ann L. "Deeter" (I775)

Denis Cashman was most likely born in the late 1700's. He married Johanna Herlighy before 1817. They had at least seven children together, seven of which have baptismal records in the Register of Donaghmore Parish, Cork, Ireland. Those seven children were John born 5 January 1817 (sponsors Cornelius Herlighy and Julia McCarthy), Denis born 1 March 1821 (sponsors Cornelius Hanigan and Mary Reardon), Mary born 4 April 1823 (sponsors Michael Herlighy and Julia Shea), Cornelius born 20 April 1828 (sponsors John Cashman and Johanna Kellher), Timothy Cashman born 23 November 1830 (sponsors Johanna Connor and John Connor) died 6 July 1857 in South Scituate MA, and John Cashman b. 30 August 1833 (sponsors John Cashman and Mary Cashman). A baptismal record for their son James Cashman has not been found but James's naturalization records state he was born in North Pluckanes, Donaghmore, Cork, Ireland on 2 Feb 1820 and his death record states his parents as Denis Cashman and Hannah. The Tithe Applotment Book for Donaghmore Parish in the Diocese of Cloyne, lists John and Denis Cashman renting 56.5 acres in Pluckanes townland from a Thomas G. French Esquire in 1826. It is not known when or where Johanna and Denis died.

The Strong Farmer

According to one definition, a "strong farmer" was a tenant who leased 30 acres or more from the landlord. By that definition, Denis Cashman would have been considered a "strong farmer" even if he shared the lease with John Cashman.

"Paintings of prosperous farmhouses, occupied by so-called strong farmers, were created by artists like John George Mulvany and Tom Semple in the 1830s and by Aloysius O'Kelly and Margaret Allen in the decades after mid-century. These images depict homes of tenants who may have occupied substantial rental holdings. We see evidence of multi-roomed and two-storied dwellings, plentiful food, paved (non-earthen) floors, carefully crafted furnishings, ample utensils and crockery, and of costly items such as glass windows, mirrors, or wax candlesticks. Such details counter widespread misperceptions that all Irish tenants lived in poverty. Yet the Irish images depicting comfortable tenant farmers convey little sense of the abundance, even opulence, apparent in many seventeenth-century Dutch genre paintings that influenced nineteenth-century artists. Operating within a land system denying security of tenure, even prosperous Irish farmers might have been wary of improving the appearance of their households for fear of rent increases and subsequent threats of eviction." [Source credit:]

According to a Griffith's Valuation perambulation book dated September 5, 1850, Denis Cashman held four lots in the townland of Bunkilla totalling 47 acres 2 roods and 33 perches (47.70625 acres). These lots were variably described as "kind cold rushy pasture", "kind tillage and pasture, part exposed steep and worn", "steep, uneven, poor slaty soil, exposed." Structures upon the land at the time included a house, outbuildings, an unoccupied house and a vacant house. The total value of the holding was estimated to be 26 pounds, 2 shillings and 6 pence. Some time after the townland was perambulated by the estimator, all the immediate lessors of the townland, including Denis Cashman, were evicted and turned out by the head landlord, Henry Wise Esq., who owned the entire Townland. He threw down some of the tenants houses. Some of the tenants were promised their land again. We have no way of knowing whether or not Denis was one of the lucky ones. 
CASHMAN, Denis (I634)

Edward F. Murphy, was born in Scituate, MA, on Nov. 14, 1870, and graduated from the high school there in June 1887. He had taken a special minor course of the curriculum in engineering and surveying with the intention of entering the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. On the day of his graduation, he noticed an advertisement in the Boston papers calling for a boy to work as rodman, and applied bright and early the next morning, was selected from ten other boys.

He entered the Boston Public Works Department as a rodman in the city surveying department at the wage of $1 per day.

He remained in this capacity for four years, being promoted to the sewer service at $2.50 a day in 1891. Three years later he was again promoted to a high rank in the same service at $3.50 a day.  He was selected in 1897 as an engineer at $6 a day, leaving the city service in [illegible] to work on underground telephone conduit construction, which he continued until 1901, when he returned to his $6 a day job as district engineer.

In 1903, he married.

In 1905, he became a member of the Boston Society of Civil Engineers.

In 1907 he went to Cuba on a leave of absence to act as consulting engineer for the Hugh J. Riley Construction Company of New York at $6000 a year.

At the expiration of this $3,000,000 contract, he passed a civil service examination for government engineers in the Irrigation and Reclamation Service, but returned to the city services because of his permanent home and friends in Dorchester.

He also took the Massachusetts Civil Service Commission examination for head of the sewer division on "general principals" as he explained it, and now stands within one of the head of the list for appointment as a deputy superintendent of engineering.

In March of 1914, Mayor Curley fired five men and combined their jobs into one whose title was Engineer In Charge. Curley appointed Edward F. Murphy to this position and increased his salary from $2400 to $3500 a year. In January of 1915, Murphy was head of the Sewer Division. In June of 1915, Mayor Curley appointed Murphy to be Commissioner of Public Works for the City of Boston at a salary of $9000 a year. 
MURPHY, Edward F. (I392)

Born in Quincy on July 30, 1916, George D. Reardon was a resident of Hingham; Freese Island, Maine; and Montserrat, B.W.I. He graduated from St. John's School and Quincy High School, and attended Thayer Academy and Bowdoin College. After early employment at the Quincy Trust Company, he entered the U.S. army during World War II as a member of military intelligence.

Following the war, he became Personnel Manager at Pneumatic Scale Corporation in North Quincy and then founded President Chevrolet in Quincy in 1953. George was President of the South Shore Auto Dealers Association and was recognized as General Motors Man of the Year in 1968.

He was a member of the Board of Directors of the Quincy Trust Company and supported the formation of new community-based banks and businesses on the south shore. George helped to shape the creation of the South Shore Chamber of Commerce and was its second president. In addition to his work with the Chamber, George was active in many local and regional business, charitable, and community initiatives.

George married childhood friend, Ruth Montrose Salter, of Arlington and Post Island (Quincy) and they had six children. Ruth and George celebrated their 55th wedding anniversary in 1996.

In high school, George played football for two years, ran track for two years, was in the band for three years and on the student council for two years. He indicated that he would be attending Harvard the following year. 
REARDON, George Daniel (I776)

Under the firm name of Hamel and Hamel, Henry C. Hamel and his wife, Helen Cashman Hamel, were engaged in legal practice in Biddeford, Maine. Mr. Hamel had a reputation as a skilled practitioner and an able and resourceful advocate, and Mrs. Hamel, who was admitted to the Massachusetts bar in 1917, and to the Maine bar in 1922, was the first woman to engage in legal practice in Biddeford.

Henry C. Hamel was born in Quincy, Massachusetts, July 30, 1882, a son of Thomas Hamel, of Maine, who for many years was identified with the granite industry at Quincy, but is now retired, and of Emily (Rouleau) Hamel, of Warwick, Maine, whose death occurred June 11, 1925. He received his early education in the local public schools, and then prepared for college in Adams Academy. When his preparatory course was completed he matriculated in Van Buren College, from which he was graduated with the class of 1905, receiving at that time the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He studied law in the Law School of Boston University, and successfully passed the examinations for admission to the bar in 1912. From 1912 to 1919, he was engaged in United States Consulate work in the Province of Quebec, but in the last-named year he came to Biddeford and engaged in general practice. He is now a member of the law firm of Hamel and Hamel, his wife being the other partner in the firm. He is a member of the York County Bar Association, the Maine Bar Association, and the American Bar Association, and is well known in this section of the State. In 1920-21 he first served as solicitor of the city of Biddeford, and again in 1923-24, 1925-26 and 1927, and 1928, in which capacity he rendered excellent professional service. He is identified with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and with several local clubs, and his religious affiliation is with St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Church.

Henry C. Hamel was married, in 1921, to Helen Cashman, of Quincy, Massachusetts. Mrs. Hamel is a native of Quincy, Massachusetts, and was admitted to legal practice in Massachusetts, in 1917 and to the Maine bar in 1922. She is the pioneer in the legal field in Biddeford so far as women are concerned, and since 1922 she has been engaged in general practice in partnership with her husband, under the firm name of Hamel and Hamel. Both are known as able and resourceful practitioners, and have made for themselves and for the firm a reputation which is a valuable business asset. Mr. and Mrs. Hamel make their home at No. 17 West Myrtle Street, in Biddeford, and their office is located in the Paquin Building. [Source credit: Maine Biographies, Volume I, Harrie B. Coe, Clearfield, 1928] 
HAMEL, Henry Charles (I614)

Life in Ireland

James Cashman, was born in the townland of Pluckanes North in the Civil Parish of Donoughmore, County Cork, Ireland, on 2 February 1820. He was one of eight children born to Denis Cashman and Johanna Herlihy. A baptismal record has not yet been found for him, but his naturalization papers list his place of birth as "Pluckanes, County Cork, Ireland" and his date of birth as "on or about the second of February 1820" (13). His filial relationship to Denis and Hannah Cashman is established by his death record (14,15).

James had many brothers and a sister all baptized in Donoughmore Roman Catholic Parish in County Cork, Ireland: John (b. 1817), Denis (b. 1821), Mary (b. 1823), Cornelius (b. 1828), Timothy (b. 1831), and John (b. 1833). With the exception of Timothy it cannot be established at this point whether or not James' siblings emigrated to the United States. James married Catherine Long, daughter of John Long and Julia McNamara, on 3 Sept 1844 in the Church of Aghabullogue in County Cork, Ireland (1). The witnesses were Denis Long and Denis Cashman.

James and Catherine had three children that were born in Ireland: Johanna (aka Hannah), Judith (aka Julia) and John. Johanna was baptized on 12 July 1845 in the Church of Cloghroe in the Parish of Inniscarra in the Diocese of Cloyne (20). Her sponsors were John Long and Johanna Cashman. Judith was baptized on 8 Apr 1847 in the same Church (21). Her sponsors were Timothy Murphy and Hanora Cashman. John was baptized 25 June 1849 in the same Church (22). His sponsors were John Murphy and Catherine McCarthy.

In 1848, James Cashman was occupying Plot 1 in the townland of Lisladeen, in the civil parish of Inniscarra. Figure 1 shows Plot 1 on a historic map of Lisladeen. Figure 2 is an aerial photograph of this location as it exists today. On this plot of land, Plot 1, there were two structures: a house and a cow barn. Figure 3 is the Ordnance Survey map of Lisladeen (1833-1846) showing the likely location of James Cashman's house and barn. Figure 4 is a present day street map of that same location. His neighbors in the townland were Widow Johanna Herlihy, Timothy Kelaher, and John Murphy (24). By late 1851, when the Lisladeen House Book was revised, James' name was crossed out to indicate that he was no longer living on Plot 1 and the structures were listed as "down" (23).

Voyage to America

On 26 Mar 1850, James departed from the Port of Liverpool on the Barque Adonis (4) with his wife Catherine and two of their children, Judith and John. They arrived in the port of Boston on 14 May 1850 (5). As steerage passengers, they would have disembarked at the passenger ships' docks and gone through customs and immigration inspection. If they passed inspection, they would have walked out into another area of the steamship dock where they would receive their baggage and then proceed directly to the city proper or Boston suburbs. If they did not pass the primary inspection, they would have immediately been given a hearing before the Board of Special Inquiry. Immigrants deemed inadmissible were transported to the U.S. Immigration Station at the end of Boston's Long Wharf. Of particular interest is the fact that their oldest daughter, Johanna, was not listed on the Adonis' passenger list. Johanna also did not appear with her family in the 1850 Federal Census. Documents suggest that she came over in 1853 with James' brother, Timothy Cashman. By the time of the Massachusetts State Census in 1855, she has been reunited with her family in Hanover, Massachusetts.

Building a New Life

Upon arriving in America, James and Catherine took up residence in the town of Hanover, Massachusetts. What made them decide to settle in Plymouth County? It's hard to know for sure, but Martha Campbell, the author of Remembering Old Abington, suggests that Irish immigrants were drawn to the area by railroad jobs. It just so happens that the Old Colony Railroad was beginning to build a line between Boston and Plymouth at a time when large numbers of Irish immigrants were arriving in Boston. The Old Colony Railroad needed laborers to clear the right of way; lay the crushed stone roadbed and wrestle the heavy rails into place and spike them down. The young Irishmen needed immediate jobs and were willing to undertake any kind of labor. Perhaps James signed on with the railroad and helped build the railway that runs through Abington, which is about five miles from the place where James and Catharine built their home. Perhaps this is where he learned many of the skills that he would use later as a surveyor, road builder and contractor.

According to the Federal Census taken on 5 Sep 1850, James, age 30, was working as a laborer and Catherine, age 30, was tending to Julia, age 5, and John, age 2 (6). Over the next sixteen years, they had seven more children, all born in Massachusetts: Denis (b. abt 1851), Catherine (b. 1854), James T. (b. 1856), Mary (b. 1858), William (b. 1859), Ellen (b. 1862) and Luke J. (b. 1866).

In September of 1855, James purchased a two and one quarter acre parcel of land on the southerly side of Walnut Street (now known as Webster Street or Route 123) which he purchased from John Stetson Barry for one hundred and twenty dollars. He constructed a house on the land to shelter his growing family and called it the "Cashman Home Place." Over the next twenty years, Cashman added to that property with purchases from Charles Jacob, Edward F Jacobs and Elisha Jacobs. On 24 Oct 1856, only six years after arriving in America, James Cashman appeared before the Suffolk County Superior Court in Boston, took an oath of allegiance and became a naturalized American citizen (13).

By 1875, the Cashman Home Place consisted of twelve and one-half acres of field and woodland as well as two houses. In addition to the Home Place, James owned a number of houses, some of which he rented to tenants. By 1878, he had purchased, in total, twenty-one parcels (78 acres) in Hanover and nine parcels (about 78 acres) in Norwell. Types of property included: lots with tenant dwellings, pasture land for grazing animals, hay lots for mowing, woodland and swampland. Swampland was considered extremely valuable because it provided white cedar, which was used extensively for shingles and post and rail fences, and pine which was straighter and less knotty than its upland cousins and well-suited for building. According to the 1875 Hanover Valuation of Estates (18), James owned a total of 63.75 acres valued at $5050. Only fourteen of the 607 landowners in Hanover owned land valued at a greater dollar amount than James and all of them were born in Massachusetts. James' personal property included four horses, a carriage, two cows, one yearling and stock in trade worth eight hundred dollars. Compared to other Hanover residents, Cashman was a wealthy landowner and the most prosperous immigrant living in the town in 1875.

During his almost thirty years in Hanover, James' listed occupation on census and other records changed from "laborer" in 1850 (6), to "brickmaker" in 1856(13), "farm laborer" in 1860 (8), "farmer" in 1867(23),  "shoemaker" in 1870 (10), and then finally to "laborer" in 1879(15).

Annual Reports for the Town of Hanover for the years 1862 to 1887 give us a more detailed picture of James as a man that was very active in town projects such as road improvement, bridge repair, construction of new roads and bridges, clearing roads of snow, construction of sidewalks, laying drainpipe, carting gravel, digging ditches, and digging wells. He sold wood to heat the town's schools and stones to build the town's bridges. He surveyed for the town and served as Road Commissioner, an elected position, from 1872-3. By 1874, James was an independent contractor and bidding on new road construction jobs in the town of Hanover. While small by today's standards, these projects would have been quite substantial for the time.

James and Catherine were members of St. Bridget's Roman Catholic Church in Abington (Figure 5) which was founded in 1863. Parish financial records from the years 1873 to 1882, show that James paid $24 per year to rent six seats in Pew 14 on the Left Aisle. Their daughters, Julia and Catherine were married in the parish in 1865 and 1881, respectively. James' generosity and commitment to the parish is evidenced by the beautiful stained glass window (Figure 6) he gifted to the church.


Twenty days before he died of cancer, James Cashman, wrote a last will and testament, in which he bequeathed his considerable land holdings and personal estate to his wife, Catherine (16). He named his relative, John Spence of Rockland, as executor and he named his son, John, as trustee. He instructed John to invest the personal estate and use the income to provide for Catherine.

James Cashman died 24 Sept 1879, in Hanover, Massachusetts (15). He is buried in St. Patrick's Cemetery in Rockland, Massachusetts, in a large family plot marked by a handsome granite memorial stone (Figure 7). Buried with him are his wife Catherine, his brother Timothy, four of his ten children (Dennis, James, Mary, and Julia), one granddaughter (Katherine F. Riordan), and one son-in-law (Daniel Riordan). Of interest is the presence of a stranger named Jeremiah Philpott, a laborer from Ireland, who died in 1884 at age 23 in Falmouth, Massachusetts; cause of death listed as "casualty." Research has uncovered that Mr. Philpott worked for James Cashman's sons, who were in the stone contracting business. Philpott died accidentally on the job, while blasting rocks in Woods Hole for a client. It is likely that a sense of responsibility and decency compelled the brothers to offer their family plot as a final resting place for Philpott.

At the time of his death, James Cashman owned property valued at $8,101 and personal items valued at $3,159 (17). After his death in 1879, James' wife Catherine appears to have taken over the management of some of her husband's enterprises, for the town remunerated her for highway repairs, new road work and gravel. James and Catherine's sons Luke and James T. were paid for shoveling snow and repairing highways.

After 1887, there is no mention of the Cashman family in the Hanover town reports. In 1903, there was a fire at the Cashman place and the original house that James built was destroyed. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1       Diocese of Cloyne, marriage record for James Cashman and Kate Long.

2       Griffiths Valuation House Books, National Archives of Ireland, PRO OL 5.0707 IRELAND;County of Cork, Barony of East Muskerry, Parish of Inniscara, House Book No. 2, Office Copy.

3       Griffiths Valuation House Books, National Archives of Ireland, PRO OL 5.0708 IRELAND; County of Cork, Barony of East Muskerry, Parish of Inniscara, No. Surveyors House Book - Original - p. 23.

4       Boston Evening Transcript, April 20, 1850 - Marine Journal.

5, Boston Passenger and Crew Lists, 1820-1943 (Online publication - Provo, UT, USA: Operations, Inc., 2006.Original data - Boston, Massachusetts. Passenger Lists of Vessels Arriving at Boston, Massachusetts, 1891-1943. Micropublication T843. RG085. 454 rolls. National Archives, Washington,),,, Bark Adonis from Liverpool; arrived Boston 14 May 1850; page 6; line 28; James Cashman.

6, 1850 United States Federal Census (Online publication - Provo, UT, USA: Operations, Inc., 2009. Images reproduced by FamilySearch.Original data - Seventh Census of the United States, 1850; (National Archives Microfilm Publication M432, 1009 rolls); Records of the Bureau of the),,, Year: 1850; Census Place: Hanover, Plymouth, Massachusetts; Roll: M432_332; Page: 104A; Image: 211. James Cashman; Dwelling #50 ; Family #60; lines 21-24; James Cashman household.

7       1855 Massachusetts State Census, Massachusetts State Archives, Boston, Massachusetts, South Scituate in the County of Plymouth; page 5; James Cashman; dwelling #39; family #1; lines 25-34, James Cashman household.

8, 1860 United States Federal Census (Provo, UT, USA, Online publication - Operations, Inc., 2009.),,, Year: 1860; Census Place: Hanover, Plymouth, Massachusetts; Roll: ; Page: 190; Image: 191. James Cashman; Dwelling #1648 ; Family #331; lines 23-33; James Cashman household.

9       1865 Massachusetts State Census (, Massachusetts State Archives, BostonMassachusetts, Hanover in the County of Plymouth; James Cashman; dwelling #260; family #306; lines 25-33, James Cashman household.

10, 1870 United States Federal Census (Online publication - Provo, UT, USA: Operations, Inc., 2009. Images reproduced by FamilySearch.Original data - 1870 U.S. census, population schedules. NARA microfilm publication M593, 1,761 rolls. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Record),,, Year: 1870; Census Place: Hanover, Plymouth, Massachusetts; Roll: M593_638; Page: 264B; Image: 533. James Cashman; Dwelling #184; Family #186; lines 3-11; James Cashman household.

11, U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 (Online publication - Provo, UT, USA: Operations, Inc., 2010. A portion of this collection was indexed by Ancestry World Archives Project contributors.Original data - State CitationUnited States. Federal Mortality Census Schedules, 1850-1880 (f),,, James Cashman.

12, U.S. Naturalization Record Indexes, 1791-1992 (Indexed in World Archives Project) (Online publication - Provo, UT, USA: Operations, Inc., 2010. This collection was indexed by Ancestry World Archives Project contributors in partnership with the following organizations: Anchorage Genealogical SocietyCalifornia State Genealogic),,, James Cashman.

13       Massachusetts, Suffolk, Superior Civil Court, 1856-1863, Jay M. Cashman, 549 South Street Quincy, MA 02169, Superior Civil Court, Suffolk County, Boston, Mass., 1856-1863, page 81.

14       Massachusetts State Archives, Massachusetts Death Registers on (Salt Lake City, Utah, FamilySearch (, Massachusetts State Archives, BostonMassachusetts, p 277, no 28.

15       Massachusetts, Plymouth, Hanover, Death Certificate, Hanover Town Clerk, James Cashman.

16      Massachusetts, Plymouth County, Probate Court, Docket 3673. Last Will and Testament

17       Massachusetts, Plymouth County, Probate Court, docket for James Cashman. Probate

18       Hanover, Massachusetts, Valuation of the Estates of the Inhabitants and Proprietors of the Town of Hanover, Together with the Annual Report of the Officers of Said Town for the Year 1875, Jay M. Cashman, 549 South Street  Quincy, MA 02169, page 20. 19       Massachusetts, Plymouth Country Registry of Deeds, 50 Oberty Street Plymouth, MA 02360, book 273, pages 209-210.

20      Diocese of Cloyne, Parish of Inniscarra, BIRTH and BAPTISMAL CERTIFICATE for for Joanna Cashman.

21      Diocese of Cloyne, Parish of Inniscarra, BIRTH and BAPTISMAL CERTIFICATE for for Julia Cashman.

22      Diocese of Cloyne, Parish of Inniscarra, BIRTH and BAPTISMAL CERTIFICATE for for John Cashman.

23      Plymouth County, The Plymouth County Directory:  Historical Register of the Old Colony (Middleboro, MA:  Stillman B. Pratt and Co., 1867), page 44, James Cashman.  Hanover Historical Society, 514 Hanover St  Hanover, MA 02339. 
CASHMAN, James (I635)
221 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Living (I10)
222 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Living (I95)

For over forty years, John Cashman was one of Quincy's most active and energetic business men. A classic example of the self-made man, he was born in Inishcarra, County Cork, Ireland, on 23 Jun 1849. When he was eight months old, his parents, James Cashman and Catherine Long, left their famine-ravaged homeland and started a new life in Hanover, MA. He came to Quincy in his early twenties, and after several years of careful saving and hard work in the employ of others, started his own teaming business in 1874. He married Hannah Falvey of Quincy and had twelve children. As a result of his thoroughness, business flourished and by 1893, he was employing 40 people and accepting contracts for teaming, excavating, road building, and stone work. His residence, stables and storehouse were located at the railroad crossing on Cross Street in West Quincy. In the late 1890s he turned his attention to bridge building and built many bridges for the Old Colony and New Haven railroads. He built deep-sea walls up and down the Massachusetts coast and was involved in the building of the Pilgrim Monument in Provincetown. He built the local water-works and contributed the granite used in the construction of his parish church, Saint Mary's in West Quincy. The Cashman name was synonymous with business success and business honesty. Cashman was exceedingly vigorous and in addition to his contracting work, he served as Road Commissioner for the City of Quincy, President of the Quincy Electric Light and Power Company, and Superintendent of the Quincy Quarries. He owned a large quarry in West Quincy and his dredging company, Bay State Dredging Ltd., was responsible for dredging waterways from Ipswich to Cotuit. When he died on 29 Mar 1913, Cashman was considered one of the best-known contractors and bridge builders in the State of Massachusetts. 
CASHMAN, John (I180)

John Francis McIntyre: Business Man

Although he was born in Ireland, John Francis McIntyre was a member of the old Clan McIntire from the Scottish Highlands. They played their part in the numerous tribal wars of the early days, and were soldiers who did much in consolidating the conquests of those regions which are now colonies of the British Empire. They were a Spartan race and their stern and hardy virtues are to be seen today in their descendants. There is little of weakness in a stock where one of every five in the population is fighting for civilization, as is said to be the case with the Scotch nation at the present time. In such facts as this there is the explanation of the place taken by that little people in the eyes of the world, not in the present generation alone, but during a history which reaches back to the mists of antiquity.

Of this old stock John Francis McIntyre was born, in County Cavan, Ireland, in 1852. He was a son of John McIntire, who was a farmer in Ireland and came to this country, living, however, only a year afterwards. His wife was Margaret (Gilson) McIntire, a native of the same county. Their children were: Bernard, Patrick, John Francis, of the present mention, Mary A., Rose, James, Cornelius.

John Francis McIntyre, after reaching manhood, changed the spelling of his name from McIntire, the old one used by the family from antiquity. He was only about fifteen years old when his parents came to this country, they purchasing a farm in Abington, Massachusetts. When the time came for the young McIntyre to leave home and seek his fortune in the outer world he secured employment in a shoe shop, and continued to follow this business until about the year 1890. He had saved some capital and he determined to establish himself in the grocery business, and soon the enterprise showed the results of the thrift, industry and foresight which he had learned in accumulating his necessary start. A fair degree of prosperity was the achievement of the work to which he gave himself for the remainder of his life. Business and home duties absorbed the greatest interest of Mr McIntyre, but he was interested in fraternal work and association and was a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen.

He married Catherine A. Cashman, daughter of James Cashman, of what is now Hanover, Massachusetts. They had three children: John Francis, Jr., of Boston; Catherine Maria, now a teacher in Brockton, Massachusetts; Helen Cashman, who holds a position as a private secretary in Boston.

James Cashman, father of Mrs. McIntyre, was born in Dunmore county, Ireland. Here he grew up and was married, and after three children were born to them the couple came to this country in 1850. He was a farmer by occupation and located at South Scituate, now known as Norwell, Massachusetts, and lived there until his death, September 28, 1879. His wife, Catherine, was the daughter of John Lang, a native of the same region as himself. They had ten children, of whom nine grew up: Hannah, Julia, John, Dennis, Catherine A., James T., Mary, William, Ellen C., Luke J. The father of James Cashman was Dennis Cashman, who married Joanna Herhily, of the same place.

- American Biography: A New Cyclopedia, v. 5, William Richard Cutter (1919), pp. 275-276, McINTYRE, John Francis; eBook, Google Books 
MCINTYRE, John Francis (I782)

Capt. John J. Cashman Jr., USN (Ret.) was well known as a civil engineer in Boston and the Northeast area. Capt. Cashman was projects engineer supervising construction of the northern end of the Garden State Parkway in New Jersey and took part in the reconstruction of the Boston Army Base. Capt. Cashman also played a part in the construction of oil and coal bulk storage facilities in Portland, Maine, and also had been chief engineer and assistant to the architect of the US Capitol, David Lynn. In this post, he supervised contracts involving design and construction of federal buildings, including the new Senate office building. He was associated with the firm of Fay Spofford and Thorndike as a projects engineer. He graduated from Milton High School, Chauncy Hall School and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Before retirement, he was chief of the engineering division, Directorate of Civil Engineering, in the Air Force Eastern Test Range, where he coordinated with senior engineers of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, (NASA), the Army Corps of Engineers, and the Facilities Engineering Command of the Navy.

In World War II, Capt. Cashman was civil engineering officer supervising harbor construction on Guam and at Pearl Harbor, and later was a Navy Seabee Batallion commander in the Southwest Pacific and Japan.

He died in Melbourne, Fla., April 8 after a brief illness. He was 74. A funeral service with full military honors was held in the Patrick Air Force Base Chapel in Florida.

[Source: Boston Globe, 3 May 1983] 
CASHMAN, Captain John Joseph Jr. (I891)

We know that Luke J. Cashman was the youngest child of James Cashman and Catherine Long. He was born in Hanover on 5 Jul 1866 and lived there until at least 18 Jun 1880. On 14 Dec 1884, at age 18, he became godfather to his niece, Helen Frances Cashman, daughter of John Cashman and Hannah Falvey, at St John the Baptist Church in Quincy. In 1891, at age 24, he worked as a teamster in Quincy and resided in a house at 37 Cross Street with his mom, Catherine.

Sometime between 1891 and Aug 1892, around age 25, he moved from Quincy to Brooklyn, NY. Land records of the heirs of James Cashman list Luke's place of residence as Brooklyn, NY in Aug 1892 and Feb 1893.

On 27 October 1897, 31 year-old, Luke Cashman married 18 year-old Mary F. McKenna. Mary's sister, Margaret, was a witness along with Maurice Ryan. The ceremony was performed by the Right Rev. Alexius Edelbrock, O. S. B., a German priest and Abbot of St. Anselm's Priory. It would appear that the newlyweds made their home with Mary's family because records from 1898 and 1900 show him living at 950 East 149th Street, a private dwelling in the Bronx, with his wife, his mother-in-law, Ella McKenna, and his wife's teenaged siblings, Margaret and Francis.

On 20 Sep 1898, Luke and Minnie, as his wife was sometimes called, welcomed the birth of a son, who they named Arthur L. Cashman. Sadly, this child died four days later. The cause of death was listed as "non-closure of Foramen Ovale," which means that the child's heart did not form properly. No other children have been found to date.
In June of 1900, he and Minnie were still living with Minnie's mother and siblings. Luke was 33 years old and working as a policeman. For an exploration of what it was like to be a policeman in New York City in 1900, see the Appendix.

An article which appeared in the New York Times on August 4, 1900 gives us an idea of Luke's physical abilities. The article describes an incident where a spooked horse bolted down Madison Avenue for several blocks until he was stopped by Policeman Cashman.

Cashman, who was then assigned to the East 51st Street Station, "sprang forward and endeavored to grab [the horse]. Cashman, who is a six footer, weighing over 200 pounds, grabbed the horse by the harness in front and hung on. The horse swerved and the policeman went under his feet. Policeman Scanlon succeeded in helping Cashman to bring [the horse] to a slow pace. Scanlon then jumped into the wagon and drove up to the Knickerbocker Athletic Club. Officer Cashman, with his uniform in strips, followed on foot, attended by a crowd. Policeman Cashman's right arm was dislocated…but did not appear to mind his injury." A competing paper, The New York Daily Tribune, described the incident as follows: "Cashman, who is a big man, was dragged across the street narrowly escaping being thrown into the excavation which has been made to equip the railroad with underground trolleys. One wheel passed over his right arm, causing a severe contusion."

In late September 1900, Patrolman Luke J. Cashman was transferred from the 24th Precinct (today known as the 17th Precinct), located in midtown Manhattan at 167 East 51st Street, to the 31st Precinct (today known as the 19th Precinct), located on the Upper East Side at 153 East 67th Street in Manhattan.

On 9 Jul 1902, an article appeared on page 6 of the New York Tribune stating that New York Police Commissioner Partridge dismissed Patrolman Luke J. Cashman from the police force on 8 Jul 1902. Patrolman Cashman was tried before Deputy Commissioner Thurston and found guilty of assaulting Patrolman Grant Williams, of the Alexander Ave station. The dismissal was made on the recommendation of Commissioner Thurston. Patrolman Williams said in his complaint against Cashman that the two had a little difficulty over a private affair, and that Cashman had gone to The Bronx, and, after insulting Williams on his post, had struck him and knocked him down. He produced several witnesses to testify that he had been assaulted by Cashman.

On 14 Jul 1902, just five days after he was dismissed, Luke initiated legal action to appeal the decision with the Supreme Court of Kings County. Kings County Supreme Court upheld the ruling of the lower court. Luke appealed the decision again and the case ended up before the New York State Supreme Court. This court also upheld the decisions of the lower courts and Luke was not reinstated.

In 1905, at age 38, he still lived at 950 East 149th Street, but was working as a construction foreman instead of as a policeman. His wife, Minnie, was listed as head of a household that no longer contained her mother, but still contained her siblings, now in their twenties.

Luke's wife, Minnie, died at age 30 on Dec 29, 1909 at St. Francis Hospital in the South Bronx. The cause of death was chronic parenchymatous nephritis, which is a chronic inflammation of the kidney. At the time of her death, she was living on Jackson Avenue in the Bronx. She is buried in St. Raymond's Cemetery in the Bronx with her baby, Arthur, her parents, Patrick and Ellen McKenna, and her siblings, Francis, Margaret, James, Agnes and Bertha. Luke is not buried there.

After 1909, Luke did not leave much of a paper trail. His name is not found in the federal or NY state censuses of 1910, 1915, 1920, 1925 or 1930. Perhaps he changed his name? The 1940 federal census reports a Luke J. Cashman, age 73, living at the Sovol Hotel in Manhattan. This Luke Cashman is a widower living alone and lists his birthplace as Massachusetts. He no longer works but states that he has income from other sources. While the age, marital status and origin match, we can't be 100% certain that this is our Luke J. Cashman without corroborating evidence.

In summary, it does not appear likely that Luke had any children that lived past the age of ten. They were married in 1897, had a child who died in 1898, were childless in the 1900 and 1905 censuses. His wife died in 1909. It is possible that Luke and Minnie had a child between 1905 and 1909 but, as yet, no evidence has been found to support this.

APPENDIX: New York City Police Department 1898-1902

Luke Cashman was a New York City policeman from at least 1898 to 1902, a period when the Irish controlled the machinery of the city through Tammany Hall. This was a time of great police demoralization and officer corruption. Police ruled the streets with nightsticks, extorting vast sums of money from the flourishing vice industry which included prostitution, gambling and after-hours saloons.

"Under Tammany the general system of blackmail was two-fold in scope. The force as a force blackmailed every available kind of vice and crime, and extorted tribute from all who were in positions to be harassed by police power. In turn, the ruling powers at headquarters 'grafted' upon the force itself. No member of the force could secure promotion, and no applicant for appointment to the force could secure the appointment, unless he paid the specified sum expected from him. A captain seeking promotion to the position of inspector was expected to pay from $15,000 to $20,000 to 'get the goods' … Sergeants seeking promotion to the position of captain had to pay from $12,000 to $15,000… Roundsmen seeking promotion to the grade of captain were expected to pay $2,500; and patrolmen seeking promotion, $1000 to $1500. Applicants for the position of patrolmen had to pay $300."

"It was generally understood that transfers could be secured for payment, and that complaints by sergeants and roundsmen were against men who had no influential friends. … It was a common station house rumor that if you paid $25 you would be 'taken care of for a year.'  - from
The Police Department of the City of New York

Luke most likely had to pay $300 to obtain his position as a patrolman. In addition to the dangers that every policeman faces in the course of his job, a New York patrolman at the turn of the century would have other concerns as well.

"The men in the force regulated their conduct with the conviction that, if they did anything hostile to the criminal element which they believed to be in control of the force, they would be made to suffer. They believed that this criminal element would go to any lengths to 'get square' with any patrolman who 'did not mind his own business.' Decent men in the force asserted that it was not exaggeration to say that a policeman who defied this element in such a way as to become dangerous to it, would place his life in danger." - from The Police Department of the City of New York

In 1901, an anti-Tammany candidate, Seth Low, was elected Mayor of New York and in January of 1902, he appointed Col. John Partridge to the office of police commissioner, with instructions to clean up the force.

"For four years there had been a direct, and almost open, alliance between the police and the criminal classes. The force was officered largely by men who had benefited by this alliance, and who were prepared to continue it. The honest men on the force had been overawed into indirect participation in 'the system,' or at least into submission. To do so would have invited quick reprisals. The most corrupt men in the force were its officers; the honest men were subordinates...Every member of the force was dragged into active or passive connivance and the morale of the entire force destroyed. Patrolmen who were not pliable were transferred to precincts where they 'could do no harm,' and for $25 or $50 a patrolman could secure transfer to a precinct near his home." - from The Police Department of the City of New York

Commissioner Partridge failed completely in his task and resigned one year after he was appointed. But not before dismissing around ninety patrolmen from the police force, including Luke J. Cashman.

"It was also a common experience for sergeants and roundsmen to make complaints against men who had either no influential friends or who 'made trouble.' This 'trouble' consisted in arresting for violations of the law, men and women who were paying for 'protection.' The men on the force were expected not to run counter to 'the system'; if they did they were either transferred far from their homes or dismissed or disciplined on trumped-up charges. A special point was also made against patrolmen who would not pay assessments or make presents to their superior officers." - from The Police Department of the City of New York

One cannot help but to speculate about why Luke J. Cashman was dismissed from the police force. If we are to take the record at face value, it is because he assaulted a fellow patrolman over a "personal matter." Was this personal matter something involving his wife or his family? Or was this assault a trumped-up charge used to get rid of Cashman because he was "making trouble" for the corrupt powers-that-be?

Unfortunately, currently available sources, do not provide an answer to this question, but they do paint quite an interesting picture of what Luke's experience may have been as a NYC policeman from 1878-1902.
Source: The Police Department of the City of New York: A Statement of Facts, City Club of New York, 1903 
CASHMAN, Luke John (I191)

Mary Ann Elcock Shea McTiernan was born in Quincy, Ma, about 1842. On 28 Oct 1875, Mary Ann Elcock, married Thomas O'Shea a stone cutter from Co. Queens, Ireland. a native of Quincy. Less than a year later, they had a son, whom they named Thomas Walter. In 1876, Thomas started listing the family name in the Quincy directory as O'Shea. The year 1877 brought much sadness to Mary Ann Elcock Shea. In May of that year, her seven month old son, Thomas, died of whooping cough and exactly one month later, her husband, Thomas, died of silicosis, a common cause of death among stone cutters. In 1878, the widow Shea occupied the house on Common Street. In 1880, she was running a boarding house at the location. In July of that year, she married John McTiernan, a stone cutter from Ireland five years her junior. John moved into her home at 16 Common Street which was just a few doors down from the houses of William and Michael Shea, brothers of her late husband, Thomas.  John and Mary Ann lived in this house at least until her death in 1905. They raised three sons there: John, Joseph and James. 
ELCOCK, Mary Ann (I1199)

When Michael Solimando was born on December 28, 1900, in Manhattan, New York, his father, Lucantonio, was 29 and his mother, Rachele, was 29. Lucantonio and Rachele emigrated to America from Italy right after their marriage in 1895. Michael was the second of three children born in New York. Michael's older brother was Nicholas and his younger brother was Vincent. Shortly after the birth of Vincent, the entire family returned to Italy where two more children were born between 1908 and 1910: a son, Domenico and a daughter, Eugenia. Soon after the birth or Eugenia, Michael's father returned to the US.

Before the outbreak of WWI, Michael's father sent for Michael and his older brother, Nicholas, who were in their late teens, to prevent them from getting caught up in the hostilities in Europe. The two younger sons, Vincent and Domenico were sent to study.

Michael married Madeline Lena Verrochi in 1931 and between 1932 and 1949 they had one son, Michael Jr., and two daughters, Rachael and Chetta.

Michael was a lifetime member of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery.

According to Chetta Solimando Kelley, Michael and Lena Solimando hosted an introduction party for John F. Kennedy at their home in Milton, MA, when he was running for the U.S. Senate.

He died on April 2, 1991, in Milton, Massachusetts, at the age of 90, and was buried there in the Milton Cemetery. 
SOLIMANDO, Michael (I103)

Robert Cashman was born April 28,1934 in Scituate MA, the second child of William Cashman and Alice Shea. Robert grew up in Scituate and played football for Scituate High school. He attended Massachusetts Maritime academy and was an outstanding navigator. He went to sea at an early age and made the sea his home while serving  in the merchant Marines. He was given a citation for bravery for risking his life to save his shipmates in a fire at sea. Robert died in 1982, he was 48 years old. [Source credit: Rachael Solimando Cashman Nylen, June 2012] 
CASHMAN, Robert W. (I523)

Ruth Salter Reardon was a graduate of Katharine Gibbs School and worked at Provident Institute for Savings and N.E. Steamship Company. While summering with her family at Post Island, Quincy, she met her husband in 1921. They were married for 55 years. The couple traveled widely for many years, most recently voyaging around the world on the S.S. Rotterdam and around Cape Horn of South America on the Royal Viking Sun. The closeknit family, while pursuing a broad range of professional interests, gathers for vacations on Reardon's Retreat, and island off Deer Isle, Maine, and occasionally at Montrose Villa on Monserrat, BWI.

Mrs. Reardon was active in the community, serving in the Girl Scout program and as a volunteer at Hingham Public Library for many years. She believed in the importance of her family, and throughout her life, supported their achievements. In her quiet way, she embodied for them the love and respect of 55 happily married years. 
SALTER, Ruth Montrose (I707)

Born on April 15, 1919 in Baltimore, Maryland to David and Minnie Lipshires, Sidney was raised in Northampton, Massachusetts where his father owned two shoe stores, David Boot Shop and The Bootery. He attended the Massachusetts State College for one year before transferring to the University of Chicago and was awarded a BA in economics in 1940. His years at the University of Chicago were transformative, Lipshires became politically active there and joined the Communist Party in 1939. Following graduation in 1941, he married Shirley Dvorin, a student in early childhood education; together they had two sons, Ellis and Bernard. Lipshires returned to western Massachusetts with his young family in the early 1940s, working as a labor organizer. He served in the United States Army from 1943 to 1946 working as a clerk and interpreter with a medical battalion in France for over a year. Returning home, he ran for city alderman in Springfield on the Communist Party ticket in 1947. Lipshires married his second wife, Joann Breen Klein, in 1951 and on May 29, 1956, the same day his daughter Lisa was born, he was arrested under the Smith Act for his Communist Party activities. Before his case was brought to trial, the Smith Act was ruled unconstitutional by the U.S. Supreme Court. Disillusioned with the Communist Party, he severed his ties with it in 1957, but continued to remain active in organized labor for the rest of his life. Earning his masters in 1965 and Ph.D. in 1971, Lipshires taught history at Manchester Community College in Connecticut for thirty years. During that time he worked with other campus leaders to establish a statewide union for teachers and other community college professionals, an experience he wrote about in his book, Giving Them Hell: How a College Professor Organized and Led a Successful Statewide Union. Sidney Lipshires died on January 6, 2011 at the age of 91.


LIPSHIRES, Sidney S. Sidney S. Lipshires, 91, died peacefully on Thursday, (January 6, 2011) at the Hebrew Home Hospital. Sid was born on April 15, 1919 in Baltimore, Maryland, to David M. Lipshires and Minnie S. (Alberts) Lipshires. When he was four years old, his family moved to Northampton, Massachusetts. Sid graduated from Northampton High School in 1936, with prizes in mathematics and science. He graduated from the University of Chicago in 1940 with a bachelor's degree in economics. In 1941, Sid married Shirley Dvorin. From 1943 to 1946, he served in the United States Army as a French interpreter. In 1947, he ran for city alderman in Springfield, Massachusetts, on the Communist Party ticket. In 1951, Sid married his second wife, Joann Klein Breen. While managing a shoe store in New Britain, Sid earned a master's degree in history from Trinity College. In 1966, he began a 30-year career as a history teacher at Manchester Community College. He earned a Ph.D. in history from the University of Connecticut in 1977. His doctoral dissertation was published as a book entitled, Herbert Marcuse: from Marx to Freud and Beyond. Sid helped establish the Congress of Connecticut Community Colleges, a statewide union for teachers and other community college professionals. He served as president of the 4 C's, as it is known today, for 18 consecutive years. Sid was known for his intelligence, humor, and unflagging energy. He had a gift for languages and loved to travel. He also appreciated art and gourmet food. Among his friends, he was known as a wise counselor and a sympathetic listener. Sid will be deeply missed by many, including his son Ellis Edmonds of Brooklyn, New York, his son Bernard Edmonds of Stockbridge, Massachusetts, his daughter Lisa Lipshires of Greenfield, Massachusetts, and his sister Evelyn Lyons of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Sid also leaves three grandchildren, two great-grandchildren, a niece, and two nephews. A graveside funeral service will be held at 11:30 a.m. on Monday, (January 10) at the Congregation B'nai Israel Cemetery on North King Street in Northampton, Massachusetts. In lieu of flowers, donations may be made in Sid's honor to The Schepens Eye Research Institute, 20 Staniford Street, Boston, MA 02114. 
LIPSHIRES, Sidney (I442)
232 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Private (I34)

Thomas Shea was born in Co. Queens, Ireland on or about 27 Mar 1848. In May of 1865, he immigrated to Boston, MA. From at least 1868 to 1870, he boarded with his brother William Shea on Common Street in Quincy, MA, and worked as a stone cutter. In September of 1869, he was selected to be the godfather of his brother William's daughter, Catherine. He became a US citizen on 30 Oct 1872. In 1875, he owned a half acre of land and a house on Common Street. On October 28th of that year, he married Mary Ann Elcock, a native of Quincy. Less than a year later, they had a son, whom they named Thomas Walter. In 1876, he started listing his name in the Quincy directory as Thomas O'Shea. The family lived at 16 Common Street, which today has been renumbered to 265 Common Street. The year 1877 brought much sadness to Mary Ann Elcock Shea. In May of that year, her seven month old son, Thomas, died of whooping cough and exactly one month later, her thirty-year-old husband, Thomas, died of silicosis, a common cause of death among stone cutters. In 1878, the widow Shea occupied the house on Common Street. 
O'SHEA, Thomas (I824)

William Cashman was born November 4, 1859, in Hanover, MA, as the eighth child of James Cashman and Catherine Long. He was their fifth child born in the US. He grew up on the family farm in Hanover and at age 29, moved to Quincy to live and work with his contractor brother, John, in West Quincy. He soon became overseer for John.

Family lore tells us that, some years before he was married, William was working a job in Scituate, MA, building a breakwater at the mouth of Scituate harbor, for the Corps of Engineers (by coincidence, the same breakwater that Jay Cashman rebuilt for the Corps of Engineers 100 years later). While in Scituate he stayed at a hotel on Beaver Dam Road, which is now known as The Inn at Scituate Harbor. That summer, a young Mary Murphy happened to be working at the hotel. Although she always claimed that she was a guest of the hotel, Mary's daughter-in-law, Alice, believed she was actually working there as a chambermaid. William and Mary met at the hotel and were married in 1891 in Scituate. After the wedding, the newlyweds settled into the home William built at 117 Cross Street.

Around the turn of the century, William went into business for himself, selling coal and wood in the winter and ice in the summer. The large yard of William Cashman & Sons was situated at the corner of Furnace and Willard Streets in West Quincy. William's business was very successful, as this was an era when coal was the primary fuel for heating homes. The Quincy Historical Society has on display an ice pick, stamped with the logo "William Cashman & Sons, Inc." The ice pick, a form of advertisement, shows that William possessed marketing savvy. In addition to his retail business, William was contracted to build the sewer systems at Milton and Hyde Park and served as Public Weigher on the Quincy City Council.

Sometime between 1935 and 1940, the Cashmans moved to Scituate. They purchased a house on the corner of Beaver Dam Road and Hatherly, where they eventually took up permanent residence. The house was later passed to their son Eddie, who in turn sold it to his brother William, Jr.

Brothers William and John must have enjoyed a close relationship because they worked together, lived next door to each other on Cross Street in Quincy and they are buried next to each other at St. Mary's Cemetery. When John Cashman died in 1913, William commissioned a floral tribute that was "the biggest floral piece ever seen in this city and one of the largest ever constructed. It represented a tug towing barges under a span bridge, typifying the span of life." In life and death they were side by side most of their life.

Unfortunately, William died from pneumonia in 1918 at the age of 58, when his son Edward was 22 and his son William Jr., was only 17. Eddie and William's widow, Mary, continued to run the business for four or five more years. After that, we don't know what happened. Seven years after the death or her husband, Mary died from diabetes at age 65. 
CASHMAN, William E. (I192)

William H. Spence, youngest son of the late John Spence, was born in Rockland Jan. 28, 1871. He received his literary education in the home schools, graduating from the Rockland high school, and in 1896 he was graduated from the Bryant & Stratton commercial college, Boston. He followed the business in which has father was engaged, and for several years was located in the same line in New York, in partnership with Stephen Dickerson, under the firm name of Dickerson & Spence, of New York and New Jersey. He is now associated with his brother, John J. Spence, in business in Rockland. Mr. Spence married Mary G. Doherty, and has two children, John W., born Mary 26, 1903; and James Raymond, born Feb. 13, 1905. (Source: Representative Men and Old Families of Southeastern Massachusetts, 1912) 
SPENCE, William Henry (I827)

Among the ancient Celtic names, SHEA is one of the oldest and best known. Many of America's foremost business men bear it, and it is known in every locality where there is activity and industry. The ancient city of Quincy (ancient as a settlement, if not as a city) is indebted to those bearing this patronymic for active development in one of her leading industries and for able management of municipal affairs. William Shea, son of John and Catherine Shea, was born in Ireland, where he was reared and received a fair education at the national schools. He married Margaret, daughter of Thomas and Margaret (Riely) Riely. Immediately this couple set out for America, where freedom might be enjoyed in its greatest degree and where opportunity awaits those who are willing to earn advancement by diligent effort. Mr. Shea settled in Quincy and learned the business of granite cutting, in which he became an expert. By industry and prudent care of his earnings, he was enabled to engage in business on his own account, and began in association with his sons, under the title of William Shea & Sons in 1874. This was one of the early concerns to engage in granite contracting in the city, and Mr. Shea continued in its active management until his death, 1889, at the age of sixty-three years. The first business undertaken was quarrying, but it gradually drifted to contracting for monumental work, chiefly in cutting and lettering stones for this purpose. All kinds of stones are used, the chief being granite, and the business is known by clients residing and doing business in remote districts. Like most natives of Ireland, Mr. Shea was a faithful supporter of the Roman Catholic church, and he was respected as a good and useful citizen. Children: 1. William Thomas, the eldest, mentioned below. 2. Mary, became the wife of Michael Lyons, of Quincy. 3. Annie, married John Scollard, who is deceased. 4. Michael, engaged in business with the firm of William Shea & Sons. 5. Catherine Elizabeth, married Arthur Murphy. The mother of these children is still living, at the age of seventy-seven years, enjoying in peace and comfort the fruits of her years of early toil. (Source credit: William Richard Cutter and William Frederick Adams (editors), Genealogical and Personal Memoirs Relating to the Families of the State of Massachusetts. Volume IV. (New York, Lewis Historical Publishing Company, 1910), p. 2622-2623.) 
SHEA, William (I309)

William T. Shea was born on March 24, 1857, in Quincy, Massachusetts, the first of eight children born to Irish immigrants William Shea and Margaret Riley. He was educated in the Quincy public schools and upon graduation, became associated with the granite contracting firm of his father. He learned every feature of the business, from quarrying the stone to cutting, lettering and setting it in place. Upon his father's death in 1889, Bill Shea, as he was known, assumed leadership of William Shea & Sons, and gradually shifted the focus of the firm to street building, sewer construction, paving, excavating and general contracting. In 1896, Shea built the foundations of the Gridley Bryant and Massachusetts Fields Schools in Quincy and in 1905, was responsible for building a section of the State highway at Bridgewater. During his lifelong residence in Quincy, Shea held many positions of public trust. When Quincy became a city in 1888, he was elected a member of the first City Council and in 1895, was appointed a member of the first Board of Sewerage Commissioners. For twelve years he was a member of the Democratic state committee and on more than one occasion was sent as delegate to the National Democratic convention. In 1908, he became the 10th Mayor of the City of Quincy and served four consecutive terms. A most genial fellow, Shea was a man of high ideals and one of the most progressive and aggressive executives the city ever had. He gave to the city and its people the best that was in him and died on December 24, 1913, in his hometown, at the age of 55.

Other Bios:

Among the ancient Celtic names, SHEA is one of the oldest and best known. Many of America's foremost business men bear it, and it is known in every locality where there is activity and industry. The ancient city of Quincy (ancient as a settlement, if not as a city) is indebted to those bearing this patronymic for active development in one of her leading industries and for able management of municipal affairs. William Thomas Shea, eldest child of William and Margaret (Riely) Shea, was born March 24, 1857, in Quincy, with which place his whole life has been identified. He was educated in the public schools of his native town, and early became associated with the business of his father. He learned every feature of the business, from quarrying the stone to cutting, lettering and setting it up in place. He was the industrious and capable aid of his father in business until the death of the latter, and succeeded him thereafter. He abandoned the quarrying feature and began general contracting, such as road-building, sewer construction and building waterworks. As his business grew he was continually adding to his force of workmen, and employs regularly a large number of people, thus affording a livelihood to a considerable portion of the population of his home town. Mr. Shea has also developed an extensive business in the manufacture of granite paving blocks, known as the Hadley paving block, and this employs many people in quarrying, sawing and shipping. As one of the enterprising and upright business men of the city, Mr. Shea is respected, and his popularity is shown by the fact that he was elected mayor of a city normally having a Republican majority of twelve hundred votes, while he is a pronounced Democrat in political principle. Upon the incorporation of the city he was elected a member of the first city council and served in 1889-90, from ward four. When the sewer commission was established, February 20, 1894, he was appointed a member, and served six years in that capacity, until 1900. In the fall of 1907 Mr. Shea was elected mayor as a "citizens" candidate, and was re-elected in 1908 and again in 1909, to serve until January 1, 1911. He is the first Democrat to hold the office for three terms, and is justifying the confidence of his constituents by faithful and capable service, conferring credit upon both himself and the city. Since attaining voting age, he has taken a keen and intelligent interest in public affairs, has been a delegate in many conventions and was for twelve years a member of the Democratic state committee. He is a member in good standing of the Catholic church; of the Ancient Order of Hibernians; the Knights of Columbus, having served as grand knight of the Quincy council; is a past chief ranger of the Massachusetts Catholic Order of Foresters. Since he was eighteen years old, he has been a member of St. Mary's Total Abstinence Society, of which he was six years president, and is a member of the Granite City and Boston City clubs. Since the organization of Quincy Lodge, No 943, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, Mr. Shea has been a member of its board of trustees. His genial nature and pleasant manners make and retain lasting friendships. He is unmarried. (Source credit: William Richard Cutter and William Frederick Adams (editors), Genealogical and Personal Memoirs Relating to the Families of the State of Massachusetts. Volume IV. (New York, Lewis Historical Publishing Company, 1910), p. 2623. ) 
SHEA, William Thomas (I675)

There are three birth records for this individual. Two of them list the date of birth as 14 Jan 1908 and one of them lists the date of birth as 14 Feb 1908.

#1 - On line no. 5 of page 33 of Births Registered in the Town of Walpole Nineteen hundred and Eight we see a male infant born to Joseph Verrochi and Conchetta Marinici[sic] of Moose Hill Street in Walpole. The date of birth has been erased but it looks like it was once 14 Jan 1908. Line no. 4 and line no 6 both record births that occured on January 14 so it makes sense that line no. 5 would be January 14th as well. The baby's given name has been erased, but you can faintly see a word that looks like 'Joseph.' The Date of Record is difficult to make out, but lines 1 through 4 read February 1, 1908 and line no. 6 looks like 'Feb 14 68' which doesn't make sense. Lines 7 through 10 list "Feb 1 '08" as the date of record.

#2 - On line no. 5 of page 113 of Births Registered in the Town of Walpole for the Year Nineteen Hundred and Eight we see Joseph Verrocchi, male, born Jan. 14 in Walpole to Joseph Verrocchi and Conchetta Marinici of Walpole. The date of Record is Feb. 1. It appears that the Town Clerk recorded all the births that happened in January on February 1st, all the births that occurred in February on March 1st, etc. This makes it more likely that Joseph/Jeremiah was born in January and not February.

#3- The baptism record in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Boston has a register from Blessed Sacrament church in Walpole that shows Jerimiah Verrochi baptized on 16 Feb 1908. His date of birth is listed as 14 Feb 1908. The preceding record is for a baby that was born on 13 Feb 1908 and baptized on 16 Feb 1908. The subsequent record is for a baby that was born on 15 Feb 1908 and baptized on 16 Feb 1908. It is possible that the scribe recorded the wrong birth date for Joseph/Jeremiah.

My interpretation of the records listed above is that Joseph/Jeremiah was born on January 14th and baptized on February 16th. 
VERROCHI, Joseph "Gennarino" (I278)

Edward signed his Declaration of Intention by making an 'X' which suggests that he could not write.


On the morning of Wednesday, May 5, 1880, Edward Nelligan was employed at his regular occupation, that of a farm laborer, showing no indications of illness. He had a hearty dinner at noon but at about 2 o'clock p.m. he acted unwell and complained to a companion that his dinner distressed him, saying that he felt sick in the stomach. Soon after he was observed to vomit, and within an hour vomited several times. He also appeared thirsty and drank water in considerable quantity. Despite being sick, he continued to work until evening, when he was attacked with nausea, vomiting, stomach distress and excessive thirst. This continued throughout the night, preventing him from getting any rest. On Thursday morning, medical attention was called in. He was seen by two physicians, on separate occasions, who agreed that the symptoms of the case were of unusual character and severity, and indicative of inflammation of the stomach, the cause of which they were unable to explain. Death ensued Friday afternoon. The suspicions of the attending physicians were aroused, as the case was a mysterious and baffling one, and an autopsy was made over the strong objections of the family of the deceased. The stomach, a portion of the intestines and two pints of their contents were submitted to a chemist for analysis, who reported the presence of arsenic in quantities sufficient to cause death. The discovery by the chemist confirmed the physicians in their opinion that the deceased had been poisoned, and the case was so reported to the district attorney, who immediately detailed G. C. Pratt and C. T. Bailey of the district police to investigate. Suspicion and public rumors about domestic infidelity and harsh treatment pointed toward Edward's wife, Bridget, but the officers failed to find any tangible evidence in that direction. Bridget was not known to have purchased poison anywhere in the vicinity, and stoutly maintained that she never had any in her possession.


According to the Administrator's inventory, Edward owned $188 of personal estate when he died, including a cow, a yearling, a pig, farming utensils, a cart, a sleigh, a plow, and household furniture. His real estate holdings were valued at $2230 and included "one fourth of an acre of land with a dwelling house and barn situated on Central Street in South Weymouth" and "two and three fourths acres of mowing and pasture land situated on Main Street in South Weymouth." 
NELLIGAN, Edward Jr. (I808)

According to the 1870 US Census, Ellen could read but could not write. 
MOORE, Ellen (I2185)

Delia graduated from Weymouth's South High School in 1884. She was the valedictorian of her class.

Delia was a co-executrix of the Will of her brother Edward T. Nelligan who died in 1894. 
NELLIGAN, Delia T. (I231)
242 John Bewick, at 77; evenhanded environmental chief
By Emma Stickgold | Globe Correspondent  January 05, 2015

When John Bewick was named state secretary of environmental affairs, environmentalists feared that his background in nuclear power and industry would stall their progress. Instead, they found him to be an unexpected ally on issues such as passing a bottle bill and addressing hazardous waste.

"We have had a decade of confrontations and adversarial relations in the field of environmental affairs," Dr. Bewick told the Globe in 1978 after Governor Edward J. King appointed him to the post. "I sense in both environmentalists and industries a desire to sit down together now, and I will try to encourage that. Confrontation is very unproductive."

Richard Nylen, who formerly served as counsel to the secretary of environmental affairs, recalled that Dr. Bewick "was a very quiet leader. He was remarkably intelligent. People sometimes can get eaten up if you don't catch on quickly. He was just a very quick study."

Dr. Bewick, who went on to help create the Tufts University Center for Environmental Management, died Dec. 25 in his Hingham home of complications from esophageal cancer. He was 77 and previously had lived in Newton.

In 1978, his resume led many to predict he would side with King on the side of business, rather than heed the concerns of environmentalists. But the two years he spent serving with the Peace Corps in Nigeria had helped shape his views on how to strike a balance between competing interests.

As the Sahara Desert expanded, drying wells and eliminating farmland, "people were literally dying, starving, as a result of what was happening," he told the Globe in 1983. "Seeing that makes you really concerned about your water supply, about protecting your quality of life."

While serving as environmental secretary, Dr. Bewick supported a bottle bill to place a 5-cent deposit on certain types of containers, even though King opposed it. Though voters ultimately ratified the proposal, Dr. Bewick did not consider its passage a major accomplishment.

A critic of corruption and inefficiencies in government, he preferred to highlight changes he helped make in the Metropolitan District Commission, his efforts to address hazardous waste dumping, and his work toward resolving ongoing disputes between fishermen and the oil industry over oil exploration off Georges Bank.

"Ideas have to have landing gear as well as wings, even though that sounds a little cliche-ish," said Nylen, who later headed the MDC. "John did both things: He came up with ideas, and then he would delegate to his staff to figure out how we would get those implemented."

In August 1979, Dr. Bewick said his agency had found 26 contaminated wells around the state and 10 illegal dump sites, and said the state was trying to set up more legal disposal sites to reduce illegal dumping. "In my view, it's the most serious environmental problem we face in the state at the moment," he said then on WEEI radio's "Bay State Forum."

During his first year on the job, he considered leaving the post to take care of his wife, the former Hannah Wallace, who had been diagnosed with cancer; she died in 1979. King encouraged him to stay, and he told the Globe in 1983 that "having to come to work every morning . . . helped in a very real way to get through that tough period."

John Arters Bewick was born in Baltimore and grew up in West Virginia and Baltimore. He graduated from Baltimore Polytechnic Institute and received a bachelor's degree in engineering physics from Cornell University. He also graduated with a master's in nuclear science from the University of Michigan. While there, he attended a campaign visit by John F. Kennedy, who announced the idea of creating the Peace Corps during a speech at the university.

A few years later, after working at the Bettis Atomic Power Laboratory in Pennsylvania, Dr. Bewick headed to Nigeria to teach physics through the Peace Corps.

He later graduated from Harvard Business School with a master's in business administration and worked for New York City's environmental protection department, before moving to the US Atomic Energy Commission. While there, he worked on a key report about the safety of nuclear power plants.

"It was the first crack at a new approach. Some of the methodology needs refinement," he told the Globe in 1978. "But basically it concluded that nuclear power is safe relative to other activities in the modern world."

He returned to Harvard Business School for a doctorate and then worked in corporate research at Cabot Corp. in Boston. Dr. Bewick sent his resume to King's office, expecting to volunteer to serve on an advisory committee. Instead, he was appointed secretary of environmental affairs.

At a news conference, he was asked whether his background would clash with his responsibility to regulate industries in which he had worked. "No, he replied. "I think in my career I've served almost as much time with public agencies as I have with private agencies. And I plan to use the knowledge and expertise I've acquired through all of these experiences to protect the public."

In 1982, he married Dr. Jennifer Daly, an internist. Their marriage ended in divorce.

After serving as environmental secretary, Dr. Bewick helped create the Tufts University Center for Environmental Management, which studied hazardous waste. He then began the Compliance Management Inc. consulting firm to help companies comply with regulations his former agency had implemented. He also taught a course in environmental management at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Department of Urban Studies and Planning. His family said that into early 2014, he consulted on a project to present Chinese diplomatic officials with a proposal to reduce air pollution, which was modeled after programs in Los Angeles and London.

Dr. Bewick, whose name was recently engraved in granite on a commemorative marker on the Charles River, married Martha Reardon in 1999, and he moved from Newton to join her in Hingham.

Every week, he added his tenor voice to the choir at First Baptist Church in Newton.

Throughout his career, Dr. Bewick "believed in the power of leading by example, and I remember him telling me when he was at the State House, he didn't let the lobbyist buy him coffee," said his son John of Tewksbury. "He thought it set a tone for the office."

A service has been held for Dr. Bewick, who in addition to his wife, son, and former wife leaves another son, Benjamin, of San Francisco; a daughter, Sarah, of Lexington; and his brother, Robert, of Dover, Del.

Looking back on his career, Dr. Bewick noted that during the time he walked a tightrope between industry and environmentalists, it was not easy to win supporters.

"I've had better support from the League of Women Voters than I have had from industry," he told the Globe in 1983. 
BEWICK, John Arters (I424)
243 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Private (I1745)
244 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Private (I577)

Joseph Verrochi, Aged 87, Founded Marinucci Firm

A high requiem Mass will be sung for Joseph Verrochi, 87, founder of the Marinucci Construction Corporation, at 8:30 a.m., Saturday in St. Agatha's Church, Milton. He died Tuesday. Born in Italy, he came to Boston at an early age and almost immediately went into the contracting business. He was a member of the Hoisting and Portable Engineers Local 4  for many years. He leaves three sons, Guido of Cohasset, present head of the firm, and William G. and Frank, both of Dorchester: three daughters, Mrs. Rose N. Cooper of Dorchester, Mrs. Theresa C. Ierardi of West Roxbury and Mrs. Madeline L. Solimando of Milton; a brother, Anthony of Norwood, and two sisters[sic], Mrs. Filomena Falerio of Boston and Marion[sic] Verrochi of Walpole.

Note: "sister" Marion should be "brother Mariano" 
VERROCHI, Joseph (I573)

Guido Verrochi - Brendan Corp. owner COHASSET -- Guido J. Verrochi, 51, of 454 Jerusalem rd., died yesterday at home. Mr. Verrochi owned the Brendan Corporation, an engineering and construction firm in Braintree. He leaves his wife, Graziella (Fava); a son, Paul, and a daughter, Claire, both of the home address, two brothers, Frank of West Roxbury and William G. of East Dennis and three sisters, Mrs. Rose Cooper of Quincy, Mrs. Madeline Solimando of Milton and Mrs. Theresa Bolino of West Roxbury. Mr. Verrochi was born in Dorchester and educated at Chauncy Hall in Boston. He was a 1942 graduate of MIT. He also was a member of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company and served in the Army during World War II. A Mass of the Resurrection will be sung at St. Agatha's Church in Milton at 10 a.m. tomorrow. Burial will be in Blue Hills Cemetery in Braintree. 
VERROCHI, Guido J. (I798)


William G. Verrochi, 55, of East Dennis, a master pipefitter, died Monday in Exeter, N.H., from injuries suffered in an automobile accident there that day.

Mr. Verrochi was a self-employed contractor in the Boston area from 1955 to 1970, and at the time of his death was a master pipefitter for Johnson Controls at the Seabrook, N.H., nuclear power plant now under construction.

He was manager and part owner of Castro Convertibles in Hyannis from 1970 to 1973. Mr. Verrochi lived in Dorchester from 1950 to 1970 before moving to East Dennis. He was born in Boston and graduated from Boston English High School.

He served in the Marine Corps during World War II. He enlisted twice. The first time from 28 Mar 1944 to 5 Aug 1946 and the second time from 16 Sep 1946 to 15 Sep 1951.

Mr. Verrochi was a 30-year member of the Pipefitters Union, Local 537, in Boston and also was a member of the Elks in Hyannis and the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Co. in Boston.

He leaves his wife, Helen Marie (Regan); three sons, Robert of Hampton, N.H., and James and Joseph Verrochi, both of East Dennis; three daughters, Paula Griffiths of Centerville, Janice Lynch of Plymouth and Helene Verrochi of East Dennis; a brother, Frank Verrochi of West Roxbury; three sisters, Rose Cooper of Milton, Madeline Solimando of Milton and Theresa Bolino of West Roxbury, and two grandchildren.

A funeral Mass will be said at 10 a.m. Saturday in Our Lady of the Cape Church in Brewster. Burial will be in Oak Ridge Cemetery, South Dennis. 
VERROCHI, William G. (I801)

CASHMAN, Louise (Healy) Of Framingham, formerly of Jamaica Plain and Chestnut Hill, December 28, 2009. Beloved wife of the late Eugene F. Cashman. Loving mother of Diane Campbell of Tampa, FL, and Jack Cashman of HI. Devoted grandmother of Jason H. Campbell and his wife Serena of Silver Springs, MD and Adam E. Campbell of Newton. Loving sister of Evelyn Mulligan of Natick, Lawrence Healy of Roslindale, Robert L. Healy of Scituate, and the late Helen E. Healy. Also survived by many nieces and nephews. Funeral from the Robert J. Lawler & Crosby Funeral Home, 1803 Centre St., WEST ROXBURY on Monday, January 4, at 9:00 AM. A Mass of Christian Burial will be celebrated in The Holy Name Church at 10:00 AM. Relatives and friends are invited to attend. Visiting hours Sunday 2-5 PM. Interment Milton Cemetery. Member of the Junior Aid League, the Christ Child Society, member of the Faulkner Hospital Auxiliary, former member of Charles River Country Club. Mrs. Cashman was an assistant at the West Roxbury Court House. Lawler & Crosby Funeral Home 617-323-5600 
HEALY, Louise M. (I504)

PORTSMOUTH -- Joann Breen Lipshires, 83, of Portsmouth, died on May 18, 2004, following a period of failing health. JOANN LIPSHIRES owned and operated 'The Cottage' bed and breakfast. Born on Feb. 24, 1921, in Hanover, Mass., she was the daughter of Edward P. and Eileene M. (Murphy) Breen and was raised in Scituate, Mass. She graduated from Simmons College in Boston and later received a master's in education degree from Antioch College. She was a second lieutenant in the U.S. Women's Army Corps, serving her country during World War II. She taught for a number of years in Gorham at Gorham High School, as well as at Lebanon High School in Lebanon. She was a strong labor union activist and was employed by the New Jersey Education Association from 1975 until her retirement. She was a talented actress who performed in summer stock at the Weathervane Theatre in Whitefield, N.H., the Hartford Stage Company in Hartford, Conn., and at the Repertory Theatre in New Britain, Conn. A gifted poet and author, she published two books of poetry and enjoyed sharing them with her many appreciative readers and friends. One of her best-loved creations was a wry fellow named Dwinel, an imaginary Yankee character whose escapades she related in a dry, Downeast accent. On retirement, she moved to Portsmouth, where she owned and operated "The Cottage" bed and breakfast in her Victorian home. She greatly enjoyed her guests, appreciating their experiences and points of view, and entertaining them with accounts of her own life and her works of poetry. She was skilled at creating beauty both in her home and in her lovely flower gardens, which were enjoyed by so many. She is survived by her loving daughters, Patricia Yourdon of Shelter Island Heights, N.Y., and Lisa Lipshires and her husband, Mark Andre, of Northampton, Mass., as well as a granddaughter, Jennifer Coffey, her husband, James, and their son, Liam Coffey. She is also survived by her sister, Nancy Grade of Santa Monica, Calif., and her two strong and loving friends, Jill Nooney and Bob Munger. Funeral services will be private. In lieu of flowers, donations may be made in her memory to her favorite local charities: Pontine Movement Theatre, 135 McDonough St., Portsmouth, NH 03801, Sustainable Harvest International, 104 Congress St., Portsmouth, NH 03801 or to Artists in Residence, 135 Daniel St., Portsmouth, NH 03801. Arrangements are entrusted to the J.S. Pelkey Funeral Home of Kittery.


- Forgiving the Black Widow Spider and Others Caught in the Web - The Well Traveled Couch 
BREEN, Joann (I441)

Mr. John Nelligan died at his home on Keith street Wednesday evening aged 83. He is survived by his widow, five sons, James, WIlliam and John of Brockton and Frank and Peter of this town, also five daughters, Mary, wife of James Gallagher of Rockland, Nellie, wife of Michael Shea of Quincy, Delia, wife of Bernard McDermott of North Weymouth, Julia and Margarett of this place. 
NELLIGAN, John (I926)

Mrs. Catherine Nelligan, widow of John Nelligan, died at her home, 49 Keith street, last Thursday night after a long illness. She is survived by five daughters, Mrs. Delia McDermott and Miss Julia Nelligan of North Weymouth, Mrs. Nellie Shea of Quincy, Mrs. Mary Gallagher of Rockland and Miss Marguerite Nelligan of this town, and five sons, Peter and Frank Nelligan of this town and John, William and James Nelligan of Brockton. The funeral took place from the church of the Sacred Heart Sunday afternoon. Interment was at St. Francis Xavier cemetery. The bearers were Thomas Fitzgerald, John Condrick, John H. Coffey and James B. Ford. A solemn mass of requiem was celebrated at the church of the Sacred Heart Monday by Rev. J. B. Holland. 
MOORE, Catherine (I918)

Obituary - Edward Nelligan.
Mr. Edward Nelligan, of Central street, South Weymouth, who has been confined to the house for a few days with rheumatism around the heart, passed away from the effects of that disease Wednesday afternoon. Mr. Nelligan was a native of this town and was unmarried. He for many years followed the trade of painter, and was employed in the paint shop of the Old Colony R. R. Co. In his latter years he was employed as letter carrier in the city of Boston. The funeral services were held this morning, Requiem High Mass being celebrated at St. Francis Xavier church. Deceased was 35 years of age. The body was taken to the Catholic cemetery on Washing street for interment.


In his Will, dated October 12, 1891, Edward bequeathed his watch, jewelry and wearing apparel to his brother, William C. Nelligan and all the rest and residue of his property, real, personal, or mixed, to his sisters Mary J. Nelligan and Delia T. Nelligan. He provided for his widowed mother, Bridget Nelligan, by making her the beneficiary of his life insturance policy.

At the time of his death, Edward owned $1150 worth of Real Estate and $4230.09 of Personal Estate. His inventory of personal effects included railroad tickets, books, wearing apparel, a revolver, a hand glass, razors, trunks, a clock, a watch and chain, a violin, tools and one share in the First National Bank of South Weymouth. He had $4,011.34 in cash deposited in fourteen different banks. This would be equivalent to about $120,393.84 in 2020 dollars.

His Real Estate holdings comprised: (a) one undivided half of about 8000 feet of land with a dwelling house and barn situated at the corner of Central Street and Centre Avenue in Weymouth - subject to a dower right - $500; (b) one undivided half of about 2.5 acres of land on Main Street in Weymouth - subject to a dower right - $600; (c) about 3/4 of an acre of land situated on Oak Street in Weymouth - $50 
NELLIGAN, Edward Thomas (I236)

Emily R. (Braga) Verrochi, 86 of Hingham, passed away on Monday July 6, 2015. Born in Boston on October 19, 1928, she was the daughter of the late Albert and Regina (Borsani) Braga. Emily attended Burdett Business School in Boston and the Museum of Fine Arts School in Boston. She was the past President of Hingham Mother's Club, a board member of Notre Dame Academy in Hingham, and a member of AHAC Women's Group Inner Circle Club of Boston. Emily enjoyed painting, cooking, traveling, and wintering in Boca Raton, FL.

Emily was the wife of the late Joseph N. Verrochi. She is survived by her daughters Camille A. Wiley and her husband Gregory of RI and Dianne Forman and her husband Chad of Norwell. Emily was the grandmother to Geoffrey G. Wiley of Weymouth, Emily E. Forman of Norwell, Meaghan C. Wiley and her fiancé Cory Varrell of NH, and Victoria A. Forman-Prudden and her husband Jamie of Boston. She was the sister of the late Irene Walters and Albert Braga.

Visiting hours in the Sullivan Funeral Homes, 551 Washington Street, Rte 53, HANOVER, on Thursday from 3-7 PM. A Funeral Mass will be celebrated on Friday at 10 AM at Resurrection Church, 1057 Main St, Hingham. Burial to follow at Washington Street Cemetery in Norwell.

Donations may be made to the American Kidney Fund, 11921 Rockville Pike, Suite 300 Rockville, MD 20852. 
BRAGA, Emily R. (I1387)

Frank Verrochi, 78, of West Roxbury, for more than 40 years owner of the Dorchester Auto Service on Quincy street, Dorchester, died yesterday in Brigham and Women's Hospital after an extended illness. Born in Walpole, Mr. Verrochi spent most of his life in Dorchester, and moved to West Roxbury 21 years ago. He retired in 1972. He was a member of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company of Massachusetts. He leaves for sons, Francis, William, Peter and John; three sisters, Rose Cooper, Lena Solimando and Theresa Bolino; 10 grandchildren and a great-grandson. A funeral Mass will be said Wednesday at 11 a.m. in St. John Chrysostom Church, West Roxbury. 
VERROCHI, Frank (I799)

Joseph N. Verrochi HINGHAM Joseph N. Verrochi, passed away in Florida on May 9. Born in Boston, Mr. Verrochi has lived in Hingham and Boca Raton, FL for over 50 years. He was the President of VRT Corp. of Norwell and a life member of Ancient & Honorable Artillery Co. of MA, former member of National Solid Waste Assn., former member of New England Road Builders Assn. and former Director at Scituate Federal Savings Bank. He was a Korean War Army veteran. He was the loving husband of Emily R. (Braga) and the devoted father of Camille Verrochi Wiley and Dianne Verrochi Forman both of Norwell. Brother of Julia Pacella of Norwell, Michael Verrochi of Hingham and Carolyn Scheick of NC, he is also survived by his grandchildren: Geoffrey and Meaghan Wiley and Emily and Victoria Forman. A Funeral Mass will be at Church of the Resurrection, 1057 Main St., Hingham, Friday morning at 10. Visiting hours at the Alfred D. Thomas Funeral Home, 326 Granite Ave., Milton Thursday 4 to 8 p.m. Interment will be at Washington Street Cemetery, Norwell. In lieu of flowers, expressions of sympathy may be made to Joslin Diabetes Center, 1 Joslin Place, Boston, MA 02215. Attn. Memorian Dept. or to Boca Raton Community Hospital, 800 Meadows Rd., Boca Raton, FL 33486. Alfred D. Thomas Funeral Home Milton 617-696-4200 
VERROCHI, Joseph N. (I1158)

Mary Lou (Clancy) Verrochi, passed away on Friday, Nov. 2, 2012. A resident of Hingham for the past 50 years, she was born in Boston, grew up in Milton, and was a graduate of Milton High School and Aquinas College. The beloved wife of Michael J. Verrochi, she is also survived by her devoted children; Michael J. Verrochi, Maureen L. Magner and her husband, Brian, Michelle J. Prouty and her husband, Kurt, and her daughter-in-law Jenna Verrochi, all of Norwelll, her cherished grandchildren; Jenelle and Michael Verrochi, Brian and Jaclyn Magner and Bradford and Krista Prouty, her loving brother James E. Clancy of Delray Beach, FL, her sister-in-law Georgia Clancy of Plymouth, and her dear niece and nephews; Maura Forcier, James and Michael Clancy. Funeral Services will be held privately for relatives. The family will respectfully receive relatives and friends at the Scituate Country Club, 91 Driftway, Scituate, Wednesday, Nov. 7 from 4 to 8 p.m. In lieu of flowers, expressions of sympathy may be made to The Friendship Home, Inc., P.O. Box 916, Norwell, MA 02061. Alfred D. Thomas Funeral Home 326 Granite Ave., Milton (617) 696-4200

Published in The Patriot Ledger from Nov. 5 to Nov. 6, 2012 
CLANCY, Mary Lou (I1388)

EZELL, Bernadette (Verrochi) Of Derry, NH formerly of Burlington, MA, September 28, 2009. Beloved wife of Ricky Ezell. Loving mother of Nicholas and Joshua Ezell both of Derry NH. Step- mother of Richie Ezell of Brighton and Greg Ezell of Beverly. Devoted daughter of Anne (Rock) and the late Peter Verrochi of West Roxbury. Loving Sister of Karen and her husband James Wright of Quincy. Aunt of Elizabeth, Emily and Bridget Wright. Also survived by many loving cousins and friends. Funeral from the Robert J. Lawler and Crosby Funeral Home, 1803 Centre St., WEST ROXBURY, on Friday, Oct. 2nd at 9:00am. A Mass of Christian Burial will be celebrated in St. John Chrysostom Church, 4750 Washington St., West Roxbury, at 10:00am. Relatives and friends are invited to attend. Visiting hours Thursday from 4:00 - 8:00pm. Interment Private. In lieu of flowers donations may be made to the Ezell Children's Fund, 17 Cunningham Drive, Derry, NH 03038. Lawler and Crosby Funeral Home 617-323-5600 - See more at: 
VERROCHI, Bernadette (I609)

Solimando, Madeline L. (Verrochi) - of Milton, March 23. Beloved wife of the late Michael. Devoted mother of Rachael Nylan of Yarmouthport and Sarasota, Chetta Kelley and Michael Solimando, Jr., both of Milton. Mother in law of Richard Nyland and Eugene Kelly. Loving grandmother of Madeline Furnish, Jamie Cashman, Carolyn Skaves, Jay Cashman, Seana Chase, Eugene Kelley, Jr., Heather Carr, Monica, Gabriella and Luke Solimando and the late Jonathan Kelley. Great grandmother of Erica, Jaclyn, Jay Michael, and Quinn Cashman, Ashley and Casey Cashman, Sophie and Rachael Cahse, Alexandria, Geno, Justin, Mary and Emily Kelley, Madeline and Michael Carr and two adopted great grandchildren Alyssa and Jenna Montillio. Sister of Theresa Bolino of W. Roxbury, and the late Rose Cooper, Michael J. , Guido, Frank and William Verrochi. Funeral Mass at St. Agatha Church, Milton, Mon. Morning at 10:30. Visiting hours at the Alfred D. Thomas Funeral Home, 326 Granite Ave., MILTON, Sun. 4-8 pm. Expressions of sympathy may be made to Old Colony Hospice, One Credit Union Way, Randolph 02368. 
VERROCHI, Madeline Lena (I102)

VERROCHI - Of West Roxbury, May 27th, Irene A. (Boisse). Beloved wife of Frank. Devoted mother of Peter of Hanover, William H. of Brockton, John T. of East Boston and Frank of Brockton. Dear sister of Anita Allen of Fla., Ernest Boisse and Evelyn Casacali of Marlboro. Also survived by 10 grandchildren. Funeral from the P.E. Murray Funeral Home, 2000 Centre St., West Roxbury, Wednesday, May 30th at 10:15 a.m. Funeral Mass in St. John Chrysostom Church, at 11 a.m. Relatives and friends most kindly invited. In lieu of flowers, donations may be made in her memory to the National Kidney Foundation. Visiting hours Tuesday 2-4 and 7-9 p.m. Interment Mt. Calvary Cemetery. 
BOISSE, Irene A. (I965)

VERROCHI - on Saturday August 17, Grace (Sacks) of Quincy. Devoted mother of Lewis Blotcher of Cotuit, Ma., Stanley Blotcher of Florida and Francis E. Verrochi of Brockton. Also survived by 9 grandchildren and 10 great grandchildren. Sister of Mary Goolnick of Brighton. Services at the Levine Briss Funeral Home, Route 139 at Route 24, Randolph, on Monday August 19 at 12 noon. Remembrances may be made to the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation. 
SACKS, Grace (I1386)
261 Ruth M. Gookin, 63 --- 36 years in Marshfield -- MARSHFIELD - Mrs. Ruth M. (Cashman) Gookin of 416 Spring st., a long-time Marshfield resident, died yesterday at Jordan Hospital, Plymouth, after a brief illness. She was 63. - Mrs. Gookin was born in Quincy and graduated from Quincy High School and Miss Pierce's Secretarial School in boston. She worked for Travelers Insurance Co, Boston, before she married. - Mrs. Gookin lived in Marshfield for 36 years after moving from Quincy. She was a parishioner of St. Christine's Church, Marshfield Hills, and a member of its Ladies Sodality. - She leaves her husband, Sylvester R.; three sons, Sylvester J. of milford, Vincent L. of New York City and Richard M. of New Haven; a daughter, Regina Ruth Gookin of Chicago; two sisters, Jean A. Cashman of Braintree and Ann M. McCoig of Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.; two brothers, Philip M. Cashman of Braintree and V. George Cashman of New York City; and three grandchildren. - A funeral Mass will be said tomorrow at 11 a.m. at St. Christine's Church, Marshfield Hills. Burial willA funeral Mass will follow at Union Cemetery, Scituate harbor. CASHMAN, Ruth Monica (I886)
262 Sylvester Gookin, 72 --- Worked for United Shoe Corp. -- MARSHFIELD - A funeral Mass will be said tomorrow at 10 a.m. in St. Christine's Church for Sylvester R. Gookin of Marshfield, who died of a heart attack Sunday in South Shore Hospital, Weymouth. He was 72. - Mr. Gookin worked many years in the sales department at the Old United Shoe Machinery Corp. in Boston, retiring when he was 65. His late father, Sylvester L. Gookin, who died in October, was an inventor for the same company. - After his retirement, Mr. Gookin wrote many articles on rowing and yacht racing that were published in Yankee Magazine and Mystic Seaport Magazine. - Born in South Boston, Mr. Gookin was a graduate of North Quincy High School and had lived in Marshfield for the last 39 years. He was a member of the Scituate Harbor Yacht Club. - He leaves three sons, Sylvester J. of Milford, Vincent L. of New York City and Richard M. Gookin of New Haven; a daughter, Regina Ruth Gookin of Chicago; three brothers, Vincent H. of Camp Springs, Md., Victor H. of  Swampscott and Roger B. Gookin of Severna Park, Md.; and three grandchildren. GOOKIN, Sylvester Roger (I33)
At age 49 (I think he lied and told them he was 33), John Murphy was enrolled in Company F of the 28th Regiment of Massachusetts Volunteers on 28 Oct 1861 at Cambridge, MA, to serve three years or for the duration of the war, whichever was shorter.

He was mustered into service as a Private in Company F of the 28th Regiment of Massachusetts Volunteers on 13 Dec 1861 at Camp Cameron in Massachusetts.

John was part of Company F from mustering until 31 Aug 1862. John was in action on 30 Aug 1862 at Bull Run, Virginia, Sept and Oct/1862 to 31 Dec 1863.

John received a gun shot wound to the left leg while engaged with his Company and Regiment in an attack upon the enemy lines at the Battle of 2nd Bull Run in Virginia on 30 Aug 1862. At the time of the battle, John was attached to and serving with Company F.

He re-enlisted as a Veteran Volunteer on 1 Jan 1864 at Stevensburg, Virginia for three years.

John was wounded for a second time on 12 May 1864 at Spottsylvania, Virginia.

"Roll for Jan. & Feb./64, absent on furlough since Feb 26/64-Mar. & Apr./64 present. May & June/64. to Aug 31/64, absent, sick in hospital. Sept & Oct/64, present. Rolls of Co. C (to which transferred) for Nov. & Dec/64, to Apr. 30th/65, present."

John was mustered out of Company C on 30 Jun 1865. His occupaton was listed as "laborer" and his residence was listed as "North Cambridge." Michael Morrissey attested that John Murphy lived on Cedar Street in Cambridge, MA, on or about July 1865.

John was honorably discharged 30 Jun 1865 at Washington, D.C. by reason of Special Order #158 Army of Potomac.

In 1878, John Murphy applied for an Invalid Pension. His application was granted and by 1891, he was receiving $2/month because the gun-shot would that he received at Bull Run made it impossible to "obtain his subsistence by manual labor."

On 9 Jan 1891, John Murphy, petitioned the federal govenment to be placed on the pension-roll of the United States, under the provisions of the Act of June 27, 1890. This Act, also known as the Dependent and Disability Pension Act, provided pensions for all verterans who had served at least ninety days in the Union military or naval forces, were  honorably discharged from service and were unable to perform manual labor, regardless of their financial situation or when the disability was suffered. On the petition, John listed his address as 33 Bolton Street, Cambridge, MA.

John Murphy received his last pension payment of $12 from the U.S. Pension Agency on 31 May 1898. He was dropped from the rolls because he died on 3 Dec 1897. 
MURPHY, John Jr. (I387)
264 A history of the town of Abington states that eleven year old Mary A. Spence attended the East Intermediate school during the 1864-1865 school year. This was a school in Abington with fifty-seven students ranging in age from nine years to fourteen years. (Source=History of the town of Abington, Plymouth County, Massachusetts, from its first settlement, p. 57) SPENCE, Mary A. (I567)
265 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Living (I1172)
266 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Living (I562)
267 About three months after her husband died, Hannah purchased a lovely Victorian house at on the corner of Adams Street and Washington Street. The address of the house was 652 Adams Street. FALVEY, Hannah Marie (I303)
268 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Living (I37)
269 According to City Directories:

In 1902 - 1904, William J. Cashman was a machinists' apprentice boarding at his father's house at 49 Cross Street.

In 1905, William J. Cashman was a machinist, living in Dorchester at 17 Newport Street.

In 1906, William J. Cashman was a machinist, boarding at his father's house at 49 Cross Street.

Memories of William J. Cashman by Brian Cashman, 9 Sep 2011
There are lots of stories about Grampa Cashman. The most notable concerned his choice of automobiles. He was known to only drive Buicks which he drove each year to Florida for winter vacation. The one year he decided to purchase and Oldsmobile, he had an accident driving to Florida in which he lost a leg. From the point on, he went back to Buicks. --- He enjoyed a cigar from time to time and had a leather chair that was his favorite place to enjoy listening to Red Sox games. He also loved buying a new automobile each year, sort of his pride and joy, and was known to drive as far as New York City to buy a cup of coffee before heading back home the same day.

Sailed from Hamilton, Bermuda, on January 31, 1925 aboard the S. S. Fort Victoria. Arrived New York, NY, on February 2, 1925. 
CASHMAN, William Joseph Sr. (I974)
270 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Living (I503)
271 According to his 1920 US Passport Application, John Frederick Spence intended to make a four-month trip to Europe, beginning on 14 Feb 1920, for the purpose of buying and selling leather. He planned to leave New York on the Rochambeau and visit the countries of England, Norway, Sweden, Poland, Holland, Denmark, Belgium, France, Switzerland, Italy, and Spain.

According to his 1923 US Passport Application, John Frederick Spence intended to travel to Europe to conduct business for the Rockland Welting Co. He planned to leave the US from the port of Boston on 26 May 1923 aboard the Scythia and visit the countries of England, Germany, France, Italy and Belgium.

John was a member of the Harvard Class of 1909. He attended Harvard Business School in 1910. Family lore suggests that he was the first honor graduate of the Harvard Business School. (Source=Bill & John Spence interview, 31 May 2012)

The 1919 Harvard Alumni Directory (page 665) has the following listing for John: Spence, John Frederick [c 06-09, A.B. 10; gb 09-11, M.B.A. Mfg.] 238 Union St., Rockland, Mass.

What this means is that John attended the college from 1906 to 1909 and was awarded his Bachelor of Arts in 1910. He also attended the Graduate School of Business Administration from 1909 to 1911 and was awarded his MBA degree in 1911. In 1919, John reported that he was working in manufacturing and living at 238 Union Street, Rockland, Mass. 
SPENCE, John Frederick (I348)
272 According to his daughter, Janet Mastrangelo Dane, Nicola worked for Mike and Camella Verrochi on the ash truck before the war and that is how he met her mom. She thinks he also worked for Marinucci Brothers at one time. She knows his brother did. MASTRANGELO, Nicholas Joseph (I1781)
273 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Living (I509)
274 According to James E. Cashman III, Grace's husband, Pete Peterson was a naval architect who specialized in luxury yachts. Pete and Grace moved to Japan in the 1960's where he worked for Kawasaki ship building and she taught English. CASHMAN, Grace Louise (I7)
275 According to James E. Cashman III, James Wallace was a major in the Army and during WWII, was a member of the combined US/Canadian group that was a pre-ccursor to the Special Forces. James E. Cashman III still has a red arrowhead emblem that once belonged to Wallace. James and his wife Marion lived in Washington, D.C. WALLACE, James W. (I470)
276 According to James E. Cashman III, Pete Peterson was a naval architect who specialized in luxury yachts. He and his wife moved to Japan in the 1960's where he worked for Kawasaki ship building and Grace taught English. PETERSON, William E. "Pete" Jr. (I6)
277 According to Jay, Charles Cashman Dalton was the clerk of courts in Barnstable County.

At the time of their wedding in 1936, Charles was living in Sandwich and Anne Frances was living in Osterville.

Charles Dalton dies at 65 -- SANDWICH - Charles C. Dalton, 65, of Tupper Road, who served as chief clerk of the Barnstable County District Court for the past 35 years, died Wednesday after collapsing at the Sandwich Pharmacy at 10:15 a.m. Dalton has been quite ill over the past two years having suffered several heart attacks, according to colleagues at Barnstable County Court house. A recent attack six weeks ago required his absence from court duties. "I'd have to say that the county and the state of Massachusetts have lost an able and a dedicated public servant," presiding Judge Henry L. Murphy said of Dalton's death. "We will all miss him at the court house, and of course I've lost a good friend. This is a deep loss to me personally." Murphy pointed out that Dalton had been clerk of First District Court as long as he had been the judge here. Born in Sandwich he was the son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Charles[sic] (Cashman) Dalton and was educated in Sandwich schools and has been a resident here all of his life. Dalton has been considered as responsible for the development of the Sandwich Marina now owned by the Town and constructed at the edge of the Cape Cod Canal. H is survived by his widow, Ann (Cross), a niece, Mrs. Carole Vigliano of Sandwich, a nephew John W. Dalton Jr. of Belgium and cousins James Henry Dalton of East Sandwich and Catherine Crowley of Dorchester. Funeral services will be from the Nickerson Bourne Funeral Home followed by a Mass of Requiem at Corpus Christi Church at 11 a.m. Saturday. Interment will be at St. Peter's Cemetery in Sandwich. Visiting hours at the Sandwich funeral home will be from 7 to 9 p.m. tonight and from 2 to 4 and 7 to 9 p.m. Friday. [Source: Cape Cod Times, 1972] 
DALTON, Charles Cashman (I323)
278 According to John Curran, in 2012, Andrew J. O'Brien, Jr., is living in Scituate. O'BRIEN, Andrew J. Jr. (I647)
279 According to the 1940 US Census, Marion completed four years of college. CASHMAN, Marion Frances (I464)
280 According to the 1940 US Census, Marion completed four years of high school. DORN, Frank Charles (I768)
281 According to the book, Steamboats Of Gloucester And The North Shore, the Tug Gorham H. Whitney used to be the Tug Nellie.

"Nellie, built June 1902, by Arthur D. Story for the Gloucester Towboard Co. Crew: Captain Osborn P. Linnekin (1905-1911), resided at 12 Lookout Street, Gloucester; Engineer Charles E. Locke (1913), resided at 5 Oak Street, Gloucester; Mate Peter J. Saxild (1913), later engineer (1916), resided at 10 Decatur Street, Gloucester.
The Nellie was probably sold in the teens to Boston interests, perhaps the Bay State Dredge and Dock Co., and renamed the Gorham H. Whitney."

[Source: Steamboats Of Gloucester And The North Shore, By John Lester Sutherland, The History Press, Charleston, SC, p. 156]
Gorham Horatio Whitney was born at 35 Codman Park in the Roxbury neighborhood of Boston, MA, on 30 Mar 1881. He was the second child of Gorham H. B. Whitney and Henrietta Marie Rogers.

Gorham Horatio Whitney, was employed by Bay State Dredging & Contracting Co. He started with the firm in 1899, at the age of 18, immediately after his graduation from English High School. His obituary stated that he was associated with the company for 49 years.

In 1913, he was listed as superintendent of the company. (Boston Journal article)
In 1923, he was listed as president of the company. (BSCE Journal ad )
In 1925, he was listed as president of the company. (Boston Globe accident article)
In 1930, he was listed as president of the company. (1930 US Census)
In 1930, he was listed as president of the company. (Boston Globe article)
In 1948, he was listed as president of the company. (obituary)

In 1907, Gorham married Edith Brownell Winn.

In October of 1925, he was injured in an automobile accident in Plymouth. The car he was driving, with a passenger named Scott, skidded near the Cornish House, struck the street car track, and went through a fence down a 20-foot embankment, turning over twice and landing in a meadow with driver and passenger under the auto. The car had to be lifted before the men could be pulled out. Mr. Scott was not injured. Whitney was bruised and cut, but was discharged from Jordan Hospital that same evening.

The Gorham H. Whitney family had a summer cottage on Mann Hill Beach in Scituate. They summered there from at least 1925 to 1932.

In 1942, Gorham was physically described as 5 ft 8 3/4 inches tall, 130 pounds, gray eyes, black hair, ruddy complexion, no marks or disabilities.

Gorham Horatio Whitney lived in Somerville, MA from at least 1900 to 1910. He lived in Medford, MA, from at least 12 Sep 1918 to 26 Apr 1942. At the time of his death in 1948, he was living at 60 Brattle Street in Cambridge, MA. He is buried at Mount Auburn Cemetery in Cambridge, MA.

Gorham was vice-president of the North Atlantic Dredging Company with headquarters in New York City. H was a member of the Dredge Owners' Association of America and the Engineers' Club of Boston.

Gorham died at age 67, on 17 Dec 1948 at Peter Bent Brigham Hospital in Boston, MA, after a long illness. His funeral was held at Story Chapel, Mt. Auburn Cemetery, Cambridge, MA. He was buried there as well.
Gorham Horatio Whitney and Edith Brownell Winn had the following children:

1.      Elizabeth S. Whitney was born on 15 Nov 1913 in Massachusetts, USA. She died on 16 Oct 1980 in North Reading, Massachusetts, USA. She married John S. "Jack" Rowntree in Feb 1936 in Medford, Middlesex, Massachusetts, USA. She lived in Lexington, MA in 1948. Jack and Elizabeth had a son, John Timothy, who was born around 1940 and is still living.
2.      Edith Kathryn Whitney was born on 30 Jun 1908 in Somerville, Middlesex, Massachusetts, USA. She died on 16 Nov 1973 in Boston, Suffolk, Massachusetts, USA. She married Edmund Arthur Packard in Jun 1933 in Medford, MA. She lived in Egypt, MA in 1948. Edmund & Kathryn had a son, Daniel Whitney Packard who was born around 1939 and is still living.
3.      Nancy Whitney was born about 1925 in Massachusetts. She married Ralph Bruce LaRose in Leesville, LA, on 7 April 1943. She lived in Arlington, MA in 1948.
Gorham's widow, Edith, died at age 77, in 1961. She was living in Wellesley, MA, at the time of her death. According to her obituary, she had three daughters, six grandchildren and one great-grandchild.
Gorham's father, Gorham H. B. Whitney, was born in Richmond, Maine. During the Civil War, he served in Company H, Maine 12th Infantry Regiment from 13 Mar 1865 to 18 Apr 1866. He was a carpenter and builder with G. & L. H. Whitney, carpenters. (This probably stood for Gorham & Levi Whitney - Levi was his brother, also a carpenter.) He died on the job on 23 Oct 1888 at age 48 from injuries sustained during a fall down an elevator shaft from the third story of the Boston Storage Warehouse on Western Avenue. He was brought to the City Hospital where he died one day later from a fractured skull. Gorham H. Whitney was just seven years old at the tie of his father's death.
Gorham's mother, Henrietta was born in Georgetown, ME.
Gorham H. Whitney's father and uncle were carpenters and had a business called, "G. & L. H. Whitney, Carpenters." Gorham's father died when Gorham was only seven years old. Gorham went to English High School and graduated in 1899. He started with Bay State Dredging immediately after graduation and allegedly was with the firm for 49 years.
Gorham H. Whitney was called "Gobey" around work sites and by his grandchildren. Gorham's middle daughter, Elizabeth Whitney Rowntree, had the nickname "Wid." Gorham's youngest daughter, Nancy, dated Ted Williams, the baseball player, but ended up marrying Bruce LaRose. Nancy had a nervous disorder that caused her to be hospitalized occasionally. Her husband Bruce took good care of her despite the fact that he was paralyzed, a condition that did not stop him from working on the boats. 
WHITNEY, Gorham Horatio (I1349)
282 According to William J. Cashman's death certificate, Jean was living with him at 75 Russell Street at the time of his death. Perhaps Jean took care of him in his final years.
Jean A. Cashman, 79, of Laurel Park died Saturday, Aug. 6, 2005, at Four Seasons Hospice Elizabeth House.

She was a native of Quincy, Mass., and lived in Henderson County since 1989. She worked for New England Telephone in New York City and was a member of Immaculate Conception Roman Catholic Church.

She is survived by a sister, Ann M. McCoig of Bellevue, Wash.; and several nieces, nephews and great-nieces and great-nephews.

A memorial Mass will be celebrated at 10 a.m. Wednesday at the Our Lady of the Angels Chapel of Immaculate Conception Roman Catholic Church. The Rev. John Salvas will officiate. Memorials may be made to Four Seasons Hospice and Palliative Care, P.O. Box 2395, Hendersonville, N.C. 28793.

Thos. Shepherd & Son Funeral Directors & Cremation Memorial Center is in charge of the arrangements. [Source:]
Of Hendersonville, NC formerly of Quincy, August 5, 2005. Loving sister of Ann M. McCoig of Bellevue, WA. Also survived by several nieces, nephews, great nieces and nephews. Relatives and friends are respectfully invited to attend the Funeral from the Keohane Funeral Home, 785 Hancock Street, WOLLASTON Monday at 8 AM. Funeral Mass in Sacred Heart Church, North Quincy at 9 AM. Visitation prior to the Mass. Burial in St. Mary's Cemetery, W. Quincy. Donations in memory of Jean may be made to Four Seasons Hospice and Palliative Care, P.O. Box 2395, Hendersonville, NC 28793. Call 1-800-Keohane or see for directions & online condolences. [Source:] 
CASHMAN, Jean Agnes (I890)
283 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Spouse F521
284 acute dilatation heart contributed to by arteriosclerosis RILEY, Margaret (I308)
285 After graduating high school, "Adeline" enrolled in a Quincy training class. By December of 1895, she was teaching in Sandwich, MA. As of February 1897 she was teaching at the Gridley Bryant School in Quincy.

Addie taught at the Farmersville school. Farmersville school house moved in 1948 to Thompsons, 185 Great Marsh Road, Centerville, Barnstable. (3 houses on the lot)

21 Oct 1895 - South Sandwich - "School commenced Monday with Miss Adeline Cashman as teacher. She boards with Mrs. Thankful Ewer." [Source: Hyannis Patriot, Monday, October, 21, 1895, page 5]

18 Nov 1895 - South Sandwich - "Miss Adeline Cashman visited the Bourne school Friday." [Source: Barnstable Patriot, Monday, November 18, 1985, page 5]

9 Dec 1895 - South Sandwich - "Miss Adeline Cashman spent Thanksgiving at her home in Quincy. School commenced Tuesday." [Source: Barnstable Patriot, Monday, December 9, 1895, page 5]

23 Mar 1896 - South Sandwich - "Miss Adeline Cashman has returned to Quincy for a vacation of one week. Quite a number visited the school Thursday, and report very favorably of the exercises and the evident improvement in the school. Music is a new feature introduced into the school and the manner in which even the little ones join in that part of the day's labor, shows how much it is enjoyed. Miss Cashman appears to be giving universal satisfaction, and we hope to retain her services for another year." [Source: Barnstable Patriot, Monday, March 23, 1896, page 3]

6 Apr 1896 - South Sandwich - "Miss Adeline Cashman has returned from Quincy. School commenced Tuesday." [Source: Barnstable Patriot, Monday, April 6, 1896, page 3]

25 May 1896 - South Sandwich - "Miss Adeline Cashman has returned from Quincy." [Source: Barnstable Patriot, Monday, May 25, 1896, page 3]

22 Jun 1896 - South Sandwich - "Miss Minnie Cashman of Quincy is a guest of her sister, Miss Adeline Cashman." [Source: Barnstable Patriot, Monday, June 22, 1896, page 3]

4 Jan 1897 - South Sandwich - "We were pleased to receive a call from one of our former teachers, Miss Adeline Cashman of Quincy, the past week." [Source: Barnstable Patriot, Monday, January 4, 1897, page 3]

21 Jan 1901 - South Sandwich - "Miss Adeline Cashman of Quincy is being entertained by Miss Eliza A. Faunce." [Source: Barnstable Patriot, Monday, January 21, 1901, page 3]

Mrs. Adeline Dalton - SANDWICH, May 10 - Mrs Adeline (Cashman) Dalton, 82, mother of Charles C. Dalton, clerk of the Barnstable District Court, died today at Sandwich Nursing Home. She made her home with her son on Tupper road. She was the widow of John W. Dalton, for many years a member of the Boston Globe editorial staff and author of a book entitled "Life Savers of Cape Cod." Native of Quincy, Mrs. Dalton was graduated from Quincy Normal School and had been a teacher in Sandwich public schools for many years. She was a trustee of Weston Memorial Library. She also leaves another son, John W. Jr. and a grandson, John W. 3d, both of Somerville; a brother, William J. Cashman of Atlantic, and two sisters, Mrs. Henry C. Hamel of Biddeford, Me., and Mrs. Thomas O'Brien of East Milton. A solemn high mass will be sung Monday at 10 a.m. in Corpus Christi Church. Burial will be in St. Peter's Cemetry. [Source: Daily Boston Globe (1928-1960); May 11, 1957; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Boston Globe (1872-1979) pg. 14]

Adeline taught in the Sandwich public schools for 15 years. 
CASHMAN, Catherine Adeline "Addie" (I310)
286 Agnes Theresa Reardon (1895-1982)  was the daughter of William Reardon, one of Daniel Bartholomew Reardon's brothers, and of Agnes Kelly, and grew up on Samoset Road in the Merrymount section of Quincy, MA. She attended the Sargent School of Physical Education at Boston University, and taught physical education in Gloucester schools for m many years, where she met Tom. He taught carpentry, was a model for Gloucester artist Eben Comins, and was with the US Coast Guard during World War II. REARDON, Agnes Theresa (I1394)
287 Agnes was traveling with Anna Gertrude Reardon Lyons when Anna died accidentally at age 82. They were both  in Lebanon to attend the wedding of Marianne Lyons. CONNOR, Agnes L. (I1105)
288 At least one living or private individual is linked to this note - Details withheld. Spouse F121
289 Alternate burial date of 13 May 2005 from Cronin O'Brien family group sheet provided by John Curran. O'BRIEN, Catherine Regina (I924)
290 Alternate mariage place from family group sheet obtained from John Curran: Hingham, Plymouth, MA. Spouse F17
291 Among the ancient Celtic names, SHEA is one of the oldest and best known. Many of America's foremost business men bear it, and it is known in every locality where there is activity and industry. The ancient city of Quincy (ancient as a settlement, if not as a city) is indebted to those bearing this patronymic for active development in one of her leading industries and for able management of municipal affairs. John[sic] Shea was born and lived in Ireland, where he was a farmer and attained the good age of ninety years. His wife's name was Catherine, and they had four sons and two daughters. Three of the sons, Michael, Thomas and William, came to America, and all settled in Quincy. All were identified with the granite business from their arrival. The first was a granite cutter, and died in Quincy in 1894. Thomas was a granite cutter, and died at the age of thirty years in 1877. (Source credit: William Richard Cutter and William Frederick Adams (editors), Genealogical and Personal Memoirs Relating to the Families of the State of Massachusetts. Volume IV. (New York, Lewis Historical Publishing Company, 1910), p. 2622.) SHEA, Michael (I692)
292 Star-News (Pasadena, California) [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Operations Inc, 2007.
Original data: Star-News. Pasadena, California, United States Of America. Database created from microfilm copies of the newspaper.
Star-News newspaper was located in Pasadena, California. 
CASHMAN, William Joseph Jr. (I297)
293 Ancient Cemetery MURPHY, Mary Frances "May" (I147)
294 Anna attended the State Normal School in Bridgewater, MA. She was accepted into Class 134 in September of 1904. She taught for two years. (Source=State Normal School, Who's Who: Seventy-fifth Annivesary State Normal School p.145)

Anna died accidentally at age 82 in Lebanon while there to attend her granddaughter, Marianne's, wedding. 
REARDON, Anna Gertrude (I341)
295 Anna Beatrice Cashman was the matron of honor and Wilfred Hamel, brother of Henry, was the best man. Spouse F52
296 Anna Marinucci Restaino, 93

YOUNGSTOWN –  A Mass of Christian Burial will be said Tuesday at 10 a.m. in St. Anthony of Padua Church for Anna Marinucci Restaino, 93, formerly of Stephens Street, who died Friday evening in Austinwoods Nursing Home.
Anna was born Jan. 6, 1913 in Sulmona Aquila, Italy, and came to this area in 1931. She was the daughter of Dominic and Mary Marinucci.
She was a member of the church, a homemaker and an excellent cook and was very generous with the items she cooked or made. She had worked at Youngstown Steel Door during WWII and the Korean War.
She is survived by a daughter, Ida (Samuel) Carfolo of Youngstown; a son, Silivio (Antonia) Restaino of Girard; granddaughters, Patricia Carfolo, Lisa Restaino and Michelle Restaino of Cleveland; a grandson, Mark (Melanie) Carfolo of Canfield; and three great-grandchildren, Rina Restaino, Olivia Marie Carfolo and Michael Anthony Carfolo.
She was preceded in death by her parents; her husband, Pasquale Restaino, whom she married Sept. 21, 1930 and who died May 30, 1985; a sister, Adeline Papallo; and two brothers, Guido and Armand Marinucci.
Family and friends may call from 5 to 8 p.m. on Monday at the Schiavone Funeral Home.
[Source: Vindicator, September 17, 2006] 
MARINUCCI, Anna (I1160)
297 Anna Zita died suddenly, at home, from a "spontaneous brain hemorrhage." Her death certificate was issued by the medical examiner. BARRY, Anna Zita (I865)
298 apoplexy SPENCE, Mary A. (I567)
299 Archived at (027 2007 email from Regina Gookin to Arthur_DONT POST.pdf) Source (S98)
300 Army Serial Number = 31424630; Name = DE RUISSEAU RAYMOND B; Place of Enlistment = BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS; Enlistment Date: 22 Oct 1943; Branch = No branch assignment; Nativitiy = MASSACHUSETTS; Birth=1911; Component of the Army = Selectees (Enlisted Men) (Source= /armyenli153gmt.txt) DERUISSEAU, Raymond (I217)

      «Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13» Next»